And They Thought We Couldn’t Fight: WWI Liberty Loan Posters from the Collection of Kenneth T. Dixon

The Gallery At Still River Editions

From Jan 07 to Mar 29, 2019
8:30 am - 5:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

“And They Thought We Couldn’t Fight” is an exhibition of World War I Liberty Loan Posters from the private collection of Kenneth T. Dixon.

There will be a free, public reception on February 2, 2pm-4pm. (snow date: February 9).

During World War I, one third of the country’s population bought at least one Liberty Bond. The bonds were sold through massive publicity campaigns that appealed to the public’s sense of patriotism through the powerful visual medium of the poster. The lithographic posters show a wide array of illustration styles and bold lettering with slogans meant to stir the public into action to fund the war. It was the dawning of mass-marketing and sophisticated propaganda. Twenty four billion dollars, two thirds of the war’s cost, was raised by 66 million transactions, in five bond drives that all exceeded projections.

Kenneth T. Dixon, who is a nationally recognized columnist for the Hearst Connecticut Media Group, began his collection as a child when he was given a gift of the poster from which the exhibit takes his name. He continued collecting posters as an adult after finding a trove in a bookstore near the State Capitol, where he was working as a reporter. “I didn’t plan on collecting these, but I couldn’t let them go when I saw them,” says Dixon. “And the next thing you know, I had eighteen of them. Back in 1997, the centennial of The Great War was still 20 years away.”

Last year marked the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I, and 2019 is the 100th anniversary of the last of the war bond drives, the Victory Liberty Loan.

Contact Name: Lys Guillorn

Contact Email: gallery@stillrivereditions.com

Contact Phone: 203-791-1474

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Venue

The Gallery At Still River Editions
128 East Liberty St.
Danbury, CT 06484

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Handicapped parking space, ground floor entry.

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Mon, 02/18/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Tue, 02/19/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Wed, 02/20/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Thu, 02/21/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Fri, 02/22/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Mon, 02/25/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Tue, 02/26/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Wed, 02/27/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Thu, 02/28/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/01/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Mon, 03/04/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/05/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/06/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/07/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/08/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Mon, 03/11/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/12/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/13/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/14/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/15/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Mon, 03/18/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/19/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/20/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/21/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/22/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Mon, 03/25/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/26/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/27/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/28/20198:30 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/29/20198:30 am5:00 pm

More Events Like This

“Jae Ko: 漂流 Drift”
Visual Arts

“Jae Ko: 漂流 Drift”

Heather Gaudio Fine Art is pleased to present “Jae Ko: 漂流 Drift,” the...

“Lock Works”
Visual Arts

“Lock Works”

– Inspired by the Stamford Museum and Nature Center’s collection of antique...

“Untitled” by Whitney O’Reardon
Visual Arts

“Untitled” by Whitney O’Reardon

Whitney O'Reardon explores the idea and images of nature acting in defiance...

2019 Member Show – Conversations
Visual Arts

2019 Member Show – Conversations

Art can be inspiring or humdrum, beautiful or ugly, worthwhile or insignificant,...

Find an Event