Anne Doris-Eisner’s “Primal Forces, in Black & White.”

New Canaan Library

From Apr 27 to Jun 03, 2019
9:00 am - 8:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Artist Anne Doris-Eisner captures the forces of nature, and its warmth, with dramatic interpretations in black and white. “Primal Forces, in Black and White” opens at New Canaan Library’s H. Pelham Curtis Gallery on Thursday, April 25 and runs through Sunday, June 2, 2019.

An opening reception will be held on Saturday, April 27 from 3 - 5 p.m.; a Q & A with the artist will begin at 3:30 p.m. All are welcome to attend.

Doris-Eisner works almost exclusively on paper because of the immediacy and physicality of that medium. Her work depicts and echoes the struggles and resilience of the natural world: a tree in its growth and decay, revealing strength; a rock strata reflecting the power of upheaval and renewal; water in its destructive and life-giving forms.
Her unique technique is part of her creative process. Most often using non-traditional tools found in nature, such as feather, twig and bone, she paints, scrapes, and repaints to capture the resilience and beauty of the natural world and its expression of the human capacity for resilience, defiance and renewal.

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Phone:
2035945003

Email:
kblance@newcanaanlibrary.org

Venue

New Canaan Library
151 Main Street
New Canaan, CT 06840

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

  • Assisted Listening System Assisted Listening System
  • Braille Braille
  • Info Info
  • Large Print Large Print
  • Low Vision Low Vision
  • Volume Control Telephone Volume Control Telephone
  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Sun, 05/19/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Mon, 05/20/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Tue, 05/21/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Wed, 05/22/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Thu, 05/23/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Fri, 05/24/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Sat, 05/25/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Sun, 05/26/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Mon, 05/27/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Tue, 05/28/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Wed, 05/29/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Thu, 05/30/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Fri, 05/31/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Sat, 06/01/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Sun, 06/02/20199:00 am8:00 pm
Mon, 06/03/20199:00 am8:00 pm

More Events Like This

Harmony Hammond: Material Witness, Five Decades of Art
Visual Arts

Harmony Hammond: Material Witness, Five Decades of Art

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum is pleased to present the first museum...

Valeria Nascimento: BLOOM
Music

Valeria Nascimento: BLOOM

Heather Gaudio Fine Art is pleased to announce Valeria Nascimento: BLOOM, the...

Maggie Taylor is Seeing Things
Visual Arts

Maggie Taylor is Seeing Things

Artists’ Market is pleased to present an exhibition of extraordinary images by...

N. Dash
Visual Arts

N. Dash

The Aldrich is staging the first East Coast museum exhibition of artist...

Find an Event