“Art & Text”: Nancy Landauer and Ilene Strizver

The Westport Library

From Sep 13 to Dec 05, 2019
9:00 am - 6:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Art Spaces in Fairfield County Libraries, a consortium of 13 libraries that offer curated visual art exhibitions, is pleased to present “Art & Text,” a united exhibition featuring the work of local and regional artists. Each library within the consortium will highlight one or more artists, whose work reflects their unique perspectives on the exhibition’s theme. Through mixed media ranging from sculpture and painting to graphics, each library’s exhibition aims to promote awareness of visual arts in the libraries of Fairfield County, as well as foster a connection between the community it serves and the arts.

The Westport Library will host a joint public opening reception for its two Art & Text-related exhibits Friday, September 20th from 6-7:30 pm, in the Library’s Sheffer Room Gallery.

Nancy Landauer
After a long career in illustration and print design, Westport artist Nancy Landauerembarked on a creative journey exploring fine art, working now with mixed-media collage and with paintings composed as a collage and then fully painted with acrylics. Her work often has a retro look and always includes text to convey a narrative, simply add pattern and texture or create a mood in the pieces.

Talking Type: Ilene Strizver
Westport type expert, educator and author Ilene Strizver looks at the basic elements of typography and how the choice of font and text layout design are essential to successfully conveying a message. Strizver is founder of The Type Studio and author of Type Rules! The designer’s guide to professional typography.

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Venue

The Westport Library
20 Jesup Road
Westport, CT 06880

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Fri, 11/15/20199:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 11/16/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 11/17/20191:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 11/18/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Tue, 11/19/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Wed, 11/20/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Thu, 11/21/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Fri, 11/22/20199:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 11/23/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 11/24/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 11/25/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Tue, 11/26/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Wed, 11/27/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Thu, 11/28/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Fri, 11/29/20199:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 11/30/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 12/01/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 12/02/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Tue, 12/03/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Wed, 12/04/20199:00 am9:00 pm
Thu, 12/05/20199:00 am9:00 pm

More Events Like This

A Pop of Color Exhibition
Visual Arts

A Pop of Color Exhibition

Come enjoy the outdoor gallery, pop-up art exhibit installed along Main Street...

Sophia Loren: An Evening With An Icon
Music

Sophia Loren: An Evening With An Icon

Orchestra seating includes a pre-show reception with authentic Italian cuisine by TerraSole...

“Art & Text” – Ferguson Library
Visual Arts

“Art & Text” – Ferguson Library

Art Spaces in Fairfield County Libraries, a consortium of 13 libraries that...

Vision & Dignity: The Art of George Hand Wright
Visual Arts

Vision & Dignity: The Art of George Hand Wright

Opening Reception: August 15 at 6 pm. Vision & Dignity: The Art of...

Find an Event