fbpx
“Beauty vs Beauty” by Emily Hamilton Laux

“Beauty vs Beauty” by Emily Hamilton Laux

The Westport Library

From Apr 01 to Jun 01, 2021
9:00 am - 6:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Artist Emily Hamilton Laux approaches the natural world from a different perspective, taking on the roles of anthropologist, botanist, researcher, and occasional set-designer, with the camera as her primary tool. Her recent work, now on view in the Westport Library’s South Gallery, examines and reframes ideas in biodiversity in the botanical world.

In Beauty Versus Beauty, plants are presented as still life’s in vintage jars with water to isolate species. The images address the co-mingled relationships of plants that grow in our backyards, along the edges of fields and parking lots, as well as flora that are cultivated for their beauty.

“Since childhood, I have looked for threads of connection between identity and place, perhaps because I have lived in very different regions of the world, as a child and as an adult,” said Emily.

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Venue

The Westport Library
20 Jesup Road
Westport, CT 06880

Map and directions

Parking Info

There is ample parking adjacent to the building.

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Tue, 04/20/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 04/21/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 04/22/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 04/23/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 04/24/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 04/25/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 04/26/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 04/27/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 04/28/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 04/29/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 04/30/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/01/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 05/02/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 05/03/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 05/04/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 05/05/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 05/06/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/07/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/08/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 05/09/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 05/10/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 05/11/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 05/12/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 05/13/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/14/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/15/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 05/16/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 05/17/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 05/18/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 05/19/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 05/20/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/21/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/22/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 05/23/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 05/24/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 05/25/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 05/26/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 05/27/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/28/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/29/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 05/30/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 05/31/20219:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 06/01/20219:00 am6:00 pm

More Events Like This

Sandie James performs @StationHouse Wednesday
Music

Sandie James performs @StationHouse Wednesday

Sandie James sings Wednesday @StationHouse performing your favorites and requests from 6:30-9:30...

Open VISIONS Forum: Espresso – Kay Cosgrove, PhD, “Painters and Poets: Unity of Nature Past and Present”
Visual Arts

Open VISIONS Forum: Espresso – Kay Cosgrove, PhD, “Painters and Poets: Unity of Nature Past and Present”

Open VISIONS Forum: Espresso Kay Cosgrove, PhD "Painters and Poets: Unity of Nature Past...

Ridgefield Guild of Artists Focus On: Portraiture
Visual Arts

Ridgefield Guild of Artists Focus On: Portraiture

Focus On: Portraiture In the Gallery and online...

Find an Event