Floral Expressions: 200 Years of Women’s Power through Fashion. Museum Closed Until Further Notice

Floral Expressions: 200 Years of Women’s Power through Fashion. Museum Closed Until Further Notice

Fairfield Museum And History Center

From Feb 28 to Aug 09, 2020
All Day


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Throughout history, our culture’s social movements, developing technologies, and evolving artistries have influenced the way people style themselves for the outside world. In this exhibition, explore wider historical and social trends over a 200-year period through iconic floral and botanical-inspired dresses from the Fairfield Museum’s collection.

Enjoy the beauty in these remarkable costumes, demonstrating the elaborate and ancient crafts of applique, weaving, printing, and embroidery.

These examples and their design techniques demonstrate the sensibilities of their eras, often showing the turning of social tides – such as the wild and bold patterns of the Swingin’ Sixties, the decadent elegance of 19th-century Victorians, or the soft naturalism of the late 18th-century.

Contact Email: info@fairfieldhs.org

Contact Phone: 2032591598

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

No ticket info available.

Venue

Fairfield Museum And History Center
370 Beach Road
Fairfield, CT 06824

Map and directions

Parking Info

On-site.

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Tue, 04/07/2020All Day---
Wed, 04/08/2020All Day---
Thu, 04/09/2020All Day---
Fri, 04/10/2020All Day---
Sat, 04/11/2020All Day---
Sun, 04/12/2020All Day---
Mon, 04/13/2020All Day---
Tue, 04/14/2020All Day---
Wed, 04/15/2020All Day---
Thu, 04/16/2020All Day---
Fri, 04/17/2020All Day---
Sat, 04/18/2020All Day---
Sun, 04/19/2020All Day---
Mon, 04/20/2020All Day---
Tue, 04/21/2020All Day---
Wed, 04/22/2020All Day---
Thu, 04/23/2020All Day---
Fri, 04/24/2020All Day---
Sat, 04/25/2020All Day---
Sun, 04/26/2020All Day---
Mon, 04/27/2020All Day---
Tue, 04/28/2020All Day---
Wed, 04/29/2020All Day---
Thu, 04/30/2020All Day---
Fri, 05/01/2020All Day---
Sat, 05/02/2020All Day---
Sun, 05/03/2020All Day---
Mon, 05/04/2020All Day---
Tue, 05/05/2020All Day---
Wed, 05/06/2020All Day---
Thu, 05/07/2020All Day---
Fri, 05/08/2020All Day---
Sat, 05/09/2020All Day---
Sun, 05/10/2020All Day---
Mon, 05/11/2020All Day---
Tue, 05/12/2020All Day---
Wed, 05/13/2020All Day---
Thu, 05/14/2020All Day---
Fri, 05/15/2020All Day---
Sat, 05/16/2020All Day---
Sun, 05/17/2020All Day---
Mon, 05/18/2020All Day---
Tue, 05/19/2020All Day---
Wed, 05/20/2020All Day---
Thu, 05/21/2020All Day---
Fri, 05/22/2020All Day---
Sat, 05/23/2020All Day---
Sun, 05/24/2020All Day---
Mon, 05/25/2020All Day---
Tue, 05/26/2020All Day---
Wed, 05/27/2020All Day---
Thu, 05/28/2020All Day---
Fri, 05/29/2020All Day---
Sat, 05/30/2020All Day---
Sun, 05/31/2020All Day---
Mon, 06/01/2020All Day---
Tue, 06/02/2020All Day---
Wed, 06/03/2020All Day---
Thu, 06/04/2020All Day---
Fri, 06/05/2020All Day---
Sat, 06/06/2020All Day---
Sun, 06/07/2020All Day---
Mon, 06/08/2020All Day---
Tue, 06/09/2020All Day---
Wed, 06/10/2020All Day---
Thu, 06/11/2020All Day---
Fri, 06/12/2020All Day---
Sat, 06/13/2020All Day---
Sun, 06/14/2020All Day---
Mon, 06/15/2020All Day---
Tue, 06/16/2020All Day---
Wed, 06/17/2020All Day---
Thu, 06/18/2020All Day---
Fri, 06/19/2020All Day---
Sat, 06/20/2020All Day---
Sun, 06/21/2020All Day---
Mon, 06/22/2020All Day---
Tue, 06/23/2020All Day---
Wed, 06/24/2020All Day---
Thu, 06/25/2020All Day---
Fri, 06/26/2020All Day---
Sat, 06/27/2020All Day---
Sun, 06/28/2020All Day---
Mon, 06/29/2020All Day---
Tue, 06/30/2020All Day---
Wed, 07/01/2020All Day---
Thu, 07/02/2020All Day---
Fri, 07/03/2020All Day---
Sat, 07/04/2020All Day---
Sun, 07/05/2020All Day---
Mon, 07/06/2020All Day---
Tue, 07/07/2020All Day---
Wed, 07/08/2020All Day---
Thu, 07/09/2020All Day---
Fri, 07/10/2020All Day---
Sat, 07/11/2020All Day---
Sun, 07/12/2020All Day---
Mon, 07/13/2020All Day---
Tue, 07/14/2020All Day---
Wed, 07/15/2020All Day---
Thu, 07/16/2020All Day---
Fri, 07/17/2020All Day---
Sat, 07/18/2020All Day---
Sun, 07/19/2020All Day---
Mon, 07/20/2020All Day---
Tue, 07/21/2020All Day---
Wed, 07/22/2020All Day---
Thu, 07/23/2020All Day---
Fri, 07/24/2020All Day---
Sat, 07/25/2020All Day---
Sun, 07/26/2020All Day---
Mon, 07/27/2020All Day---
Tue, 07/28/2020All Day---
Wed, 07/29/2020All Day---
Thu, 07/30/2020All Day---
Fri, 07/31/2020All Day---
Sat, 08/01/2020All Day---
Sun, 08/02/2020All Day---
Mon, 08/03/2020All Day---
Tue, 08/04/2020All Day---
Wed, 08/05/2020All Day---
Thu, 08/06/2020All Day---
Fri, 08/07/2020All Day---
Sat, 08/08/2020All Day---
Sun, 08/09/2020All Day---

More Events Like This

Stamford Museum & Nature Center –  “Meet the Cattle” & “Heckscher Farm Baby Check-in” (Spanish)
Digital

Stamford Museum & Nature Center – “Meet the Cattle” & “Heckscher Farm Baby Check-in” (Spanish)

Log in and stay connected with the Stamford Museum & Nature Center!...

Virtual Museum
History & Heritage

Virtual Museum

As we all hunker down to do our part to contain Corona...

Weekly Art Challenge: Family Portraits
Digital

Weekly Art Challenge: Family Portraits

Weekly Art Challenge: Creative Fun for Grades K-12 (and Adults, too!) Tara...

Find an Event