Postponed – “Health, Healing & Addiction in 19th Century America”

Postponed – “Health, Healing & Addiction in 19th Century America”

Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum

From May 14 to Nov 08, 2020
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Generously sponsored in part by CT Humanities, and featuring rare, never-before-seen artifacts from a major private collection as well as public institutions, this new exhibition will explore how families managed their health in the 19th century. It will investigate what history can teach us about the Germ Theory, technology, Civil War and its medical legacy, and the extraordinary breakthroughs that rocked the establishment leading to the birth of modern medicine. The exhibition will also bring to light unconventional treatments and the darker side of medicine such as addiction through the access of popular over-the-counter “remedies” promising pain relief and improved health.

Contact Name: Charles Hill

Contact Email: chill@lockwoodmathewsmansion.com

Contact Phone: 2038389799

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

As per regular tour admission. See our website for more information.

Phone:
2038389799

Email:
info@lockwoodmathewsmansion.com

Venue

Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum
295 West Ave
Norwalk, CT 06850

Map and directions

Parking Info

The Museum has on-site parking.

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Wed, 06/03/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 06/04/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 06/05/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 06/06/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 06/07/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 06/10/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 06/11/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 06/12/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 06/13/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 06/14/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 06/17/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 06/18/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 06/19/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 06/20/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 06/21/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 06/24/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 06/25/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 06/26/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 06/27/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 06/28/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 07/01/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 07/02/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 07/03/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 07/04/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 07/05/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 07/08/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 07/09/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 07/10/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 07/11/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 07/12/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 07/15/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 07/16/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 07/17/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 07/18/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 07/19/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 07/22/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 07/23/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 07/24/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 07/25/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 07/26/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 07/29/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 07/30/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 07/31/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 08/01/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 08/02/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 08/05/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 08/06/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 08/07/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 08/08/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 08/09/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 08/12/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 08/13/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 08/14/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 08/15/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 08/16/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 08/19/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 08/20/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 08/21/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 08/22/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 08/23/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 08/26/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 08/27/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 08/28/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 08/29/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 08/30/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 09/02/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 09/03/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 09/04/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 09/05/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 09/06/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 09/09/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 09/10/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 09/11/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 09/12/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 09/13/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 09/16/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 09/17/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 09/18/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 09/19/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 09/20/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 09/23/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 09/24/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 09/25/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 09/26/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 09/27/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 09/30/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/01/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/02/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/03/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 10/04/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 10/07/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/08/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/09/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/10/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 10/11/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 10/14/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/15/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/16/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/17/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 10/18/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 10/21/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/22/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/23/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/24/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 10/25/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 10/28/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/29/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/30/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/31/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 11/01/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 11/04/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 11/05/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 11/06/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 11/07/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 11/08/202012:00 pm4:00 pm

More Events Like This

BLACKFISH (2013)
Visual Arts

BLACKFISH (2013)

The Avon Theatre presents an Avon Online screening of the 2013 documentary...

FANTASTIC FUNGI
Visual Arts

FANTASTIC FUNGI

The Avon Theatre presents an Avon Online screening of FANTASTIC FUNGI, directed...

SPACESHIP EARTH
Visual Arts

SPACESHIP EARTH

The Avon Theatre presents an Avon Online screening of SPACESHIP EARTH, the...

Westport Library: Westport’s Suffragists—Our Neighbors, Our Crusaders: The 19th Amendment Turns 100
Digital

Westport Library: Westport’s Suffragists—Our Neighbors, Our Crusaders: The 19th Amendment Turns 100

An innovative, virtual exhbit of the forgotten history of Westport’s suffragists and...

Find an Event