Heidi Johnson, Animal Attraction

Heidi Johnson, Animal Attraction

Flinn Gallery

From Nov 05 to Jan 06, 2021
11:00 am - 3:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

The Flinn Gallery presents Heidi Johnson, Animal Attraction opening November 5, 2020 (through January 6, 2021.)

The animal species and objects of Heidi Johnson’s surreal worlds inhabit large, vivid canvases. Her playful oil paintings layer ideas, flatten dimensions, and compress time. Johnson entertains the viewer by painting domesticated pets alongside exotic animal species while contrasting 17th century Dutch Still Life flowers with modern artists’ abstract works.

Johnson’s distinctive body of work conveys an abundance of energy through strong color, dynamic composition, masterful technique, and invention. Her easy-to-please canvases thread joyful, visual imagery of everyday life, dogs, birds, and summer pleasures that appeal to the child or natural scientist within us.

Art historians, collectors, and designers, find delight in that she infuses her work with a diverse range of concepts and imagery of art movements such as, early Dutch Golden Age to Rococo; Impressionism to mid-century Modern art. More specifically, a survey of visual references abounds Dutch Still Life masters; Rococo painter Fragonard’s The Swing, Impressionist’s Matisse Goldfish; to modern masters Alexander Calder, Sol LeWitt, and Ed Ruscha’s Standard Station to name a few.

“I have a desire to make pictures that defy a normal subject/predicate narrative even though I use recognizable figurative imagery. I want a viewer to be apprehended all at once, by conveying visual and emotional impact without a linear narrative,” said Johnson. “Similar to the conceptual form of Dutch Golden Age of painting where flora and fauna from different continents meet on the same plane to achieve a breadth of content within one piece,” she explains, “I draw parallels between that era and our contemporary internet culture pumping excess imagery and information from all parts of the planet in a single instant.”

Heidi Johnson describes growing up with creatures large and small in the countryside of Massachusetts. Just months ago, after 25 years of living in the South Bronx and New York City, Johnson traded her artist loft for a Victorian home and the green pastures of Patterson, NY. She holds a BFA from Tufts University and a diploma from The School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, where she was awarded the Traveling Scholar prize among other several prestigious awards. Johnson exhibits widely in the US and internationally: Sweden, Norway, Australia, and Canada, and her artworks are held in numerous private and public collections.


Originally planned for last April, Heidi Johnson, Animal Attraction was postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic. During lockdown, Johnson painted everyday resulting in many never seen before paintings. The exhibition runs from November 5, 2020 - January 6, 2021 and is co-curated by Flinn Gallery Committee members, Ellen Hawley and Karen Sheer. Over the duration of the exhibition, the Flinn Gallery in-person experience offers visitors augmented reality videos of Johnson’s studio and process, as well as many digital presentations including 360-degree views of the installation.

The Flinn Gallery is located on the second floor of the Greenwich Library, 101 West Putnam Avenue, Greenwich, CT and is currently open Tuesday-Saturdays between 11AM-3PM, with COVID-19 guidelines in effect. Call (203) 622-7947 for Gallery access visit: www.flinngallery.com to confirm hours and to learn more about the artwork by Heidi Johnson. Contact Karen: karen@azestforlife.com

Contact Email: karen@azestforlife.com

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Venue

Flinn Gallery
Greenwich Library - 2nd floor
Greenwich, CT 06830

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

No accessibility info available.

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Wed, 11/25/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Thu, 11/26/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Fri, 11/27/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Sat, 11/28/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Tue, 12/01/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Wed, 12/02/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Thu, 12/03/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Fri, 12/04/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Sat, 12/05/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Tue, 12/08/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Wed, 12/09/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Thu, 12/10/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Fri, 12/11/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Sat, 12/12/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Tue, 12/15/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Wed, 12/16/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Thu, 12/17/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Fri, 12/18/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Sat, 12/19/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Tue, 12/22/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Wed, 12/23/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Thu, 12/24/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Fri, 12/25/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Sat, 12/26/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Tue, 12/29/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Wed, 12/30/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Thu, 12/31/202011:00 am3:00 pm
Fri, 01/01/202111:00 am3:00 pm
Sat, 01/02/202111:00 am3:00 pm
Tue, 01/05/202111:00 am3:00 pm
Wed, 01/06/202111:00 am3:00 pm

More Events Like This

Rick Shaefer showing “The New Colossus” at Silvermine
Music

Rick Shaefer showing “The New Colossus” at Silvermine

Rick Shaefer is showing his monumental drawing "The New Colossus" at Silvermine...

Say the Word Art Exhibit
Visual Arts

Say the Word Art Exhibit

isit an exhibit of the work of artist and jewelry designer Joanie...

Artists Sunday Sale on Paradox Ink’s Shopify
Music

Artists Sunday Sale on Paradox Ink’s Shopify

Liz Squillace of Paradox Ink will be having an Artists Sunday Sale...

Artists Sunday – Kathleen Telesco Special Original Paintings and Prints
Visual Arts

Artists Sunday – Kathleen Telesco Special Original Paintings and Prints

Kathleen Telesco is offering special original 10"x8" paintings just for Artists Sunday....

Find an Event