Holy Roots: The History of Houses of Worship in Stamford 1641-2000

Stamford History Center

From Oct 23 to Jun 10, 2020
11:00 am - 4:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Join us for Stamford History Center's Exhibit Holy Roots: The History of Houses of Worship, happening now through June 2020. Hours are Thursdays & Fridays 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturdays 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

This exhibit illustrates the development and growth of religious denominations in Stamford from the time of its founding until 2000.

For the first 75 years of its history, the Congregational Church was the only house of worship in Stamford. In 1706, the first meeting of Anglicans occurred, however they did not secure land or permission to build a house of worship until 1742. Thereafter, denominations multiply with the Methodists and Baptists established by the end of the 18th century. The first Catholic Church is built on Meadow Street in 1850. Agudath Shalom, Stamford’s first synagogue, is organized by 1889.

With the increase in immigration, churches multiply and tend to have an ethnic base whether it be Polish, Italian, Greek or Russian. While some denominations limited the number of churches and separate congregations such as the Presbyterians and Baptists, other denominations witnessed an explosion of separate parishes. Many houses of worship also were built as a result of schisms or splits with the original church. Union Baptist, the first African-American church in Stamford broke off from the Stamford Baptist Church. Temple Beth-El had its roots in Agudath Sholom.

Stamford’s houses of worship continue to spread and change as old faiths lose congregants to newer, less traditional models. Yet, houses of worship continue to endure and provide another element bonding the people of the community together.

Contact Name: Tom Zoubek

Contact Email: info@stamfordhistory.org

Contact Phone: 203-329-1183

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

Admission: $5 for non-members Free for members of Stamford History Center

Venue

Stamford History Center
1508 High Ridge Rd.
Stamford, CT 06903

Map and directions

Parking Info

Merritt Parkway, Exit 35 to High Ridge Road, North 3/4 mile
2-story, c.1915 fieldstone building located on the left, past gas station with parking lot in back

Accessibility Info

No accessibility info available.

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Fri, 11/15/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 11/16/201910:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 11/21/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 11/22/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 11/23/201910:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 11/28/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 11/29/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 11/30/201910:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 12/05/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 12/06/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 12/07/201910:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 12/12/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 12/13/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 12/14/201910:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 12/19/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 12/20/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 12/21/201910:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 12/26/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 12/27/201911:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 12/28/201910:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 01/02/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 01/03/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 01/04/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 01/05/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 01/06/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 01/07/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 01/08/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 01/09/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 01/10/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 01/11/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 01/12/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 01/13/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 01/14/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 01/15/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 01/16/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 01/17/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 01/18/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 01/19/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 01/20/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 01/21/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 01/22/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 01/23/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 01/24/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 01/25/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 01/26/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 01/27/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 01/28/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 01/29/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 01/30/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 01/31/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 02/01/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 02/02/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 02/03/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 02/04/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 02/05/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 02/06/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 02/07/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 02/08/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 02/09/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 02/10/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 02/11/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 02/12/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 02/13/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 02/14/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 02/15/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 02/16/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 02/17/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 02/18/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 02/19/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 02/20/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 02/21/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 02/22/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 02/23/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 02/24/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 02/25/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 02/26/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 02/27/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 02/28/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 02/29/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 03/01/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 03/02/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 03/03/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 03/04/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 03/05/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 03/06/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 03/07/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 03/08/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 03/09/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 03/10/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 03/11/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 03/12/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 03/13/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 03/14/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 03/15/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 03/16/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 03/17/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 03/18/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 03/19/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 03/20/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 03/21/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 03/22/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 03/23/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 03/24/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 03/25/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 03/26/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 03/27/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 03/28/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 03/29/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 03/30/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 03/31/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 04/01/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 04/02/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 04/03/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 04/04/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 04/05/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 04/06/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 04/07/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 04/08/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 04/09/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 04/10/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 04/11/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 04/12/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 04/13/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 04/14/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 04/15/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 04/16/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 04/17/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 04/18/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 04/19/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 04/20/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 04/21/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 04/22/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 04/23/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 04/24/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 04/25/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 04/26/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 04/27/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 04/28/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 04/29/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 04/30/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 05/01/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 05/02/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 05/03/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 05/04/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 05/05/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 05/06/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 05/07/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 05/08/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 05/09/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 05/10/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 05/11/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 05/12/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 05/13/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 05/14/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 05/15/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 05/16/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 05/17/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 05/18/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 05/19/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 05/20/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 05/21/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 05/22/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 05/23/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 05/24/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 05/25/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 05/26/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 05/27/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 05/28/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 05/29/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 05/30/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 05/31/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 06/01/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 06/02/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 06/03/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 06/04/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 06/05/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 06/06/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 06/07/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 06/08/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 06/09/202011:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 06/10/202011:00 am4:00 pm

More Events Like This

Sophia Loren: An Evening With An Icon
Music

Sophia Loren: An Evening With An Icon

Orchestra seating includes a pre-show reception with authentic Italian cuisine by TerraSole...

“Art & Text” – Ferguson Library
Visual Arts

“Art & Text” – Ferguson Library

Art Spaces in Fairfield County Libraries, a consortium of 13 libraries that...

Visual Conversations: Exhibition and Open Studios Weekend
Visual Arts

Visual Conversations: Exhibition and Open Studios Weekend

Join the artists at WALA for Visual Conversations! Friday, November 15,...

“Art & Text”: Nancy Landauer and Ilene Strizver
Visual Arts

“Art & Text”: Nancy Landauer and Ilene Strizver

Art Spaces in Fairfield County Libraries, a consortium of 13 libraries that...

Find an Event