fbpx
Karla Knight: Navigator

Karla Knight: Navigator

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

From Oct 17 to May 01, 2022
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Karla Knight has spent the last forty years creating an impressive body of work that spans painting, drawing and photography.

"Navigator," her first institutional solo show, will take the form of a focused survey, charting the development of her far-seeing language over a four-decade-long career.

Knight's imagery is steeped in science, the occult, early twentieth century abstraction, Surrealism and Native American art. Her visual language is purposefully impenetrable—she offers no clues or methods to its decoding. For her, its true meaning must remain unnamed, as it is ultimately inspired by “the mysteries and absurdities of life.”

Knight's dense paintings and works on paper swirl with graphic shapes, diagrams, and ciphers that appear both archaic and space-aged. The exhibition will track the vast range and evolution of Knight’s pictographic lexicon—the spaceships, floating orbs, and eyeballs, as well as the hieroglyphic-like lists, charts, codes, alphabets, and other invented symbols—that embody these all-over compositions.

Similar to the trailblazing abstract artist Hilma af Klint (1862–1944) and the far-sighted symbolist Agnes Pelton (1881–1961), Knight’s enigmatic image databank channels a passionate engagement with spiritual or nonphysical realms.

The exhibition will also debut an entirely new series, featuring what Knight refers to as “tapestries.” Using reclaimed cotton cut from circa 1940s–50s seed and grain bags purchased on eBay, Knight sews pieces together to form a patchwork composition. Unstretched, she draws and paints directly on the surface with flashe, colored pencil, and graphite, while hand embroidering select sections.

Contact Email: general@thealdrich.org

Contact Phone: 203-438-4519

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

Adults: $12; Seniors: $7; Students: $7
Members, Educators, Children under 13, Military Families, and Third Saturdays: Free

Phone:
203-438-4519

Email:
general@thealdrich.org

Venue

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum
258 Main Street
Ridgefield, CT 06877

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

  • Info Info
  • Large Print Large Print
  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

The Aldrich offers a social narrative document available on the website for visitors on the autism spectrum. For further questions, please contact the Museum.

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Wed, 12/08/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 12/09/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 12/10/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 12/11/202110:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 12/12/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 12/13/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 12/15/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 12/16/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 12/17/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 12/18/202110:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 12/19/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 12/20/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 12/22/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 12/23/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 12/24/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 12/25/202110:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 12/26/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 12/27/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 12/28/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 12/29/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 12/30/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 12/31/202112:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 01/01/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 01/02/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 01/03/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 01/05/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 01/06/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 01/07/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 01/08/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 01/09/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 01/10/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 01/12/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 01/13/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 01/14/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 01/15/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 01/16/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 01/17/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 01/19/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 01/20/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 01/21/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 01/22/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 01/23/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 01/24/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 01/26/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 01/27/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 01/28/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 01/29/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 01/30/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 01/31/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 02/02/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 02/03/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 02/04/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 02/05/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 02/06/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 02/07/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 02/09/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 02/10/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 02/11/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 02/12/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 02/13/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 02/14/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 02/16/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 02/17/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 02/18/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 02/19/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 02/20/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 02/21/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 02/23/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 02/24/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 02/25/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 02/26/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 02/27/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 02/28/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 03/02/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 03/03/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 03/04/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 03/05/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sun, 03/06/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 03/07/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 03/08/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 03/09/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 03/10/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 03/11/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 03/12/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/13/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 03/14/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 03/15/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 03/16/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 03/17/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 03/18/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 03/19/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/20/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 03/21/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 03/22/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 03/23/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 03/24/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 03/25/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 03/26/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/27/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 03/28/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 03/29/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 03/30/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 03/31/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 04/01/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 04/02/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/03/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 04/04/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 04/05/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 04/06/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 04/07/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 04/08/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 04/09/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/10/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 04/11/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 04/12/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 04/13/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 04/14/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 04/15/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 04/16/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/17/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 04/18/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 04/19/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 04/20/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 04/21/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 04/22/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 04/23/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/24/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 04/25/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 04/26/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 04/27/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 04/28/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 04/29/202212:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 04/30/202210:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/01/202212:00 pm5:00 pm

More Events Like This

Beginner Drawing – Arts Alliance of Stratford
Classes & Workshops

Beginner Drawing – Arts Alliance of Stratford

Anyone can learn to draw! This course is for all those with...

Westport Holiday Art Fair
Visual Arts

Westport Holiday Art Fair

Westport Holiday Art Fair will run throughout the Holiday Season with Fine...

Don Peluso sings Sinatra on Sundays @StationHouse
Music

Don Peluso sings Sinatra on Sundays @StationHouse

Don Peluso sings Sinatra, Elvis and Rat Pack favorites on Sundays at...

49th Annual Mark Twain Library Art Show
Visual Arts

49th Annual Mark Twain Library Art Show

The beginning of the holiday season in Redding is marked by the...

Find an Even