Katelyn Alain, “Vision and Metaphor: She took the Helm.”

New Canaan Library

From Aug 27 to Oct 07, 2019
9:00 am - 5:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Steeped in the academic tradition of painting, but with a unique contemporary perspective, Katelyn Alain draws from the compositional structure, historical motifs, and virtuosic brushwork of master painters across a diverse range of genres. Her most recent work can be viewed within her one-person show, "Vision and Metaphor: She took the Helm," set to open on August 27, 2019 at New Canaan Library’s H. Pelham Curtis Gallery.

The show runs from August 27 – October 7, with an opening reception on Thursday, September 5 at 6 p.m. A Q & A with the artist begins at 6:30 p.m.; all are welcome to attend.

Employing a palette of rich hues to deep blacks and browns, Alain references both traditional master artists as well as contemporary images to equate visual context with well-known history paintings. Alain upends a tradition that glorifies and romanticizes the male figure and gaze. Her new work is a singular and vital response to the current times, touching on a deep uneasiness- often depicting children isolated on the water- yet also heroically in charge of their own destiny or in moments of epiphany. In her new work, Alain presents an allegorical and turbulent vision, drawing from Emanuel Leutze’s iconic "Washington Crossing The Delaware" (1850) and various American history paintings.

As the artist herself notes, “When I began these paintings I asked myself what I needed to create in the world right now. There is a need to see ourselves and our children living wholly empowered and legitimately respected. I see a fresh future that is pushed into betterment by all hands on deck. I see new stories, new norms, and new leaders all around me. We are already moving swiftly over the water if we could just grab the oars and herald the young taking control of the boat.”

“Vision and Metaphor: A New American Epic" is sponsored by the Art Committee of New Canaan Library. Curators for the show are Christie Nichols and Susan Khiar. The art is for sale. For additional information, please contact Amara Johnson at 203.594.5079 or visit newcanaanlibrary.org.

Contact Name: Katherine Blance

Contact Email: kblance@newcanaanlibrary.org

Contact Phone: 2035945003

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Venue

New Canaan Library
151 Main Street
New Canaan, CT 06840

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

  • Assisted Listening System Assisted Listening System
  • Braille Braille
  • Info Info
  • Large Print Large Print
  • Low Vision Low Vision
  • Volume Control Telephone Volume Control Telephone
  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Mon, 09/16/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 09/17/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 09/18/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 09/19/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 09/20/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 09/21/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 09/22/201912:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 09/23/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 09/24/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 09/25/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 09/26/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 09/27/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 09/28/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 09/29/201912:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 09/30/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 10/01/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 10/02/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 10/03/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 10/04/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 10/05/20199:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 10/06/201912:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 10/07/20199:00 am5:00 pm

More Events Like This

‘Destinations:’ A world tour, close to home
Visual Arts

‘Destinations:’ A world tour, close to home

Travel the world with the artists of the Maggie Daly Arts Cooperative...

Vision & Dignity: The Art of George Hand Wright
Visual Arts

Vision & Dignity: The Art of George Hand Wright

Opening Reception: August 15 at 6 pm. Vision & Dignity: The Art of...

Taking the Cure: Public Health 1880-1960
Visual Arts

Taking the Cure: Public Health 1880-1960

Taking the Cure, casts a lens on the social management of mental...

Authors @New Canaan Library Presents Kumiko Makihara, Introducing her Memoir Dear Diary Boy
Literature & Lectures

Authors @New Canaan Library Presents Kumiko Makihara, Introducing her Memoir Dear Diary Boy

Author and journalist Kumiko Makihara will discuss the competitive Japanese school...

Find an Event