Liberty To Set Down: Immigrants and Migrants in Westport CT

Westport Historical Society

From Jan 24 to Jul 31, 2019
11:00 am - 6:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Westport Historical Society’s (WHS) new exhibit “Liberty To Set Down: Immigrants and Migrants in Westport CT” is produced in collaboration with The Westport Library. The exhibit explores the contributions of those who settled in Westport from its earliest days to the present. The exhibit title comes from the original land grant given to the Bankside Farmers in the 17th century in what is today Greens Farms.
From its earliest settlement in 1648 in the parish of Greens Farms, the area that was to become Westport has been a crossroads of cultural expression. Westport Historical Society and The Westport Library explore how immigrants have long woven the fabric of the town in its exhibit Liberty To Set Down: Immigrants and Migrants in Westport, Connecticut. Westport’s immigration story began with the first Europeans who wrested the land from Native People to the forced immigration of enslaved Africans to the later waves of Irish, German, Italian and Polish immigrants of the 19th century to a wide and varied immigration story of the 20th and 21st centuries. January 23, 2019 through July 30, 2019.

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

Admission for Exhibit: Adults: $5, Students & Seniors: $3
Members & Children 10 and under: No Charge

Venue

Westport Historical Society
25 Avery Place
Westport, CT 06880

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Fri, 04/19/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 04/20/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 04/21/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 04/22/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 04/23/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 04/24/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 04/25/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 04/26/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 04/27/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 04/28/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 04/29/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 04/30/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 05/01/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 05/02/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/03/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/04/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 05/05/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 05/06/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 05/07/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 05/08/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 05/09/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/10/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/11/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 05/12/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 05/13/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 05/14/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 05/15/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 05/16/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/17/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/18/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 05/19/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 05/20/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 05/21/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 05/22/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 05/23/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/24/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/25/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 05/26/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 05/27/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 05/28/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 05/29/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 05/30/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/31/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 06/01/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 06/02/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 06/03/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 06/04/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 06/05/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 06/06/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 06/07/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 06/08/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 06/09/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 06/10/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 06/11/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 06/12/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 06/13/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 06/14/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 06/15/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 06/16/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 06/17/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 06/18/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 06/19/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 06/20/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 06/21/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 06/22/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 06/23/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 06/24/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 06/25/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 06/26/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 06/27/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 06/28/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 06/29/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 06/30/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 07/01/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 07/02/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 07/03/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 07/04/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 07/05/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 07/06/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 07/07/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 07/08/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 07/09/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 07/10/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 07/11/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 07/12/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 07/13/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 07/14/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 07/15/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 07/16/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 07/17/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 07/18/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 07/19/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 07/20/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 07/21/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 07/22/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 07/23/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 07/24/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 07/25/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 07/26/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 07/27/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Sun, 07/28/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Mon, 07/29/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 07/30/201911:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 07/31/201911:00 am6:00 pm

More Events Like This

“Martin Kline: Hammock Paintings & Recent Works”
Visual Arts

“Martin Kline: Hammock Paintings & Recent Works”

Heather Gaudio Fine Art is pleased to present Martin Kline: Hammock Paintings...

Buried Treasures of the Silk Road
History & Heritage

Buried Treasures of the Silk Road

Opening on February 10, 2019, "Buried Treasures of the Silk Road" highlights...

Collective Action Archive: Redux
Visual Arts

Collective Action Archive: Redux

Franklin Street Works will celebrate the opening of “Collective Action Archive: Redux”...

Come See Spring in Bridgeport!
Science & Nature

Come See Spring in Bridgeport!

Now in its fifth year, Colorblends House and Spring Garden in Bridgeport...

Find an Event