About Women

About Women

Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum

From Jul 29 to Jan 03, 2021
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

After temporarily closing on March 23, the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum is pleased to announce that it will reopen for tours at noon on Wed., July 29, 2020.

While most of the programming for youth and adults throughout the season will be offered virtually, and be either live-streamed or recorded, the Museum will offer tours of its galleries on a limited basis. 45-minute tours of the first floor period rooms will be available on Wednesday, Saturday, and Sunday at 12 p.m. and 2 p.m.

Due to the continued threat of COVID-19 and to achieve safe distancing measures, the tour capacity will be reduced and all tickets must be purchased online, through the Museum’s website: www.lockwoodmathewsmansion.com/programs. Walk-ins will not be accepted until further notice.

The exhibition, About Women, in collaboration with Silvermine Arts Center will mark the physical reopening of LMMM’s galleries and celebrate women's artistic contributions as they are finding their voices and making an impact throughout the professional world. The exhibition will open on Wed., July 29 and run through Sun., January 3, 2021.

Admission to the exhibition will be included with the purchase of a tour ticket and be subject to museum tour schedules and rules.

LMMM Trustee Gail Ingis, co-chair for the contemporary art exhibits at the Mansion said, “Silvermine Arts Center promotes collaboration with artistic colleagues as well as the community. I feel fortunate to have been involved with Silvermine for the past fifteen years.”

Curated by Silvermine Gallery Director Roger Mudre, the exhibition will feature selected works by female members of the Silvermine Guild of Artists and provide an overview that will celebrate their diverse directions in subject matter and media and their contributions to contemporary art. A former Silvermine trustee and Board Chair, Mr. Mudre is responsible for Silvermine's Gallery exhibitions, installations and related programming. He is a Lifetime Silvermine Guild member and practicing artist with works in numerous private and corporate collections.

Exhibiting artists will include: Christine Aaron, Pam Ackley, Rita Baunok, Caroline Bergonzi, Nancy Breakstone, Janine Brown, Karen Brussat Butler, Nina Buxenbaum, Sharon B. Cavagnolo, Ann Chernow, Marilyn Clements, Marcia Cooper, Marina Daneva, Carol Nipomnich Dixon, Katharine Draper, Camille Eskell, Francine Even, Christy Gallagher, April Hammock, Charlotte Hedlund, Fran Henry-Meehan, Elizabeth Higgins, Ann Hodgdon-Cyr, Nash Hyon, Martha Ives, Elizabeth Killgore, Lucy Krupenye, Nancy Lasar, Janice Mauro, Julie O'Connor, Lee Paine, Laurie Peek, Barbara Ringer, Suzanna Schlemm, Susan Sharp, Marlene Siff, Nomi Silverman, Susan Sommer, Judith Steinberg, Susan Stillman, Joan Wheeler, and Torrance York.

These artists are members of the notable Silvermine Guild of Artists, where renowned artists, Elaine de Kooning, Alice Neel, Louise Nevelson, Faith Ringgold and others socialized, exchanged ideas, and critiqued each other's works for nearly a century.
The Museum’s 2020 cultural and educational programs are made possible in part by generous funding from LMMM’s Founding Patrons: The Estate of Mrs. Cynthia Clark Brown; LMMM’s Leadership Patrons: The Sealark Foundation; LMMM’s 2020 Season Distinguished Benefactors: The City of Norwalk and The Maurice Goodman Foundation; LMMM’s 2020 Distinguished Benefactors for Education: The Daphne Seybolt Culpeper Memorial Foundation, Inc. For more information please visit www.lockwoodmathewsmansion.com.

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

$10 per tour

Phone:
203-838-9799

Email:
info@lockwoodmathewsmansion.com

Venue

Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum
295 West Ave
Norwalk, CT 06850

Map and directions

Parking Info

The Museum has on-site parking.

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Fri, 09/18/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 09/19/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 09/20/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 09/23/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 09/24/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 09/25/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 09/26/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 09/27/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 09/30/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/01/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/02/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/03/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 10/04/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 10/07/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/08/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/09/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/10/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 10/11/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 10/14/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/15/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/16/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/17/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 10/18/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 10/21/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/22/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/23/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/24/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 10/25/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 10/28/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 10/29/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 10/30/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 10/31/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 11/01/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 11/04/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 11/05/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 11/06/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 11/07/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 11/08/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 11/11/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 11/12/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 11/13/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 11/14/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 11/15/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 11/18/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 11/19/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 11/20/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 11/21/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 11/22/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 11/25/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 11/26/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 11/27/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 11/28/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 11/29/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 12/02/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 12/03/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 12/04/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 12/05/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 12/06/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Tue, 12/08/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 12/09/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 12/10/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 12/11/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 12/12/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 12/13/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 12/16/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 12/17/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 12/18/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 12/19/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 12/20/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 12/23/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 12/24/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 12/26/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 12/27/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Wed, 12/30/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Thu, 12/31/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Fri, 01/01/202112:00 pm4:00 pm
Sat, 01/02/202112:00 pm4:00 pm
Sun, 01/03/202112:00 pm4:00 pm

More Events Like This

Kat Evans Art at Pearl@Longshore Gallery
Visual Arts

Kat Evans Art at Pearl@Longshore Gallery

Solo show of Westport based artist Kat Evans' vibrant abstract art at...

SEVENTIETH A•ONE NATIONAL EXHIBIT
Visual Arts

SEVENTIETH A•ONE NATIONAL EXHIBIT

SEVENTIETH A•ONE 70th A-ONE is a national competition/exhibition highlighting the diversity of work...

September Exhibit: Catherine Andersen’s “Inspirations of Sea and Sky”
Visual Arts

September Exhibit: Catherine Andersen’s “Inspirations of Sea and Sky”

This September, the Geary Gallery of Darien is proud to present “Inspirations...

Artist in Residence – Leonard Fisher
Visual Arts

Artist in Residence – Leonard Fisher

Listen in on a conversation with legendary Westport artist Leonard Everett Fisher—who's...

Find an Event