Carlos Davila: New Canaan Sculpture Trail

Carlos Davila: New Canaan Sculpture Trail

New Canaan Sculpture Trail: Livingston-Higley Preserve

From Jun 01 to Oct 31, 2020
All Day


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Bridgeport artist Carlos Davila is one of the eight juried artists to install a sculpture on the New Canaan Sculpture Trail.

His work for this exhibit, "Sugar Maple," is intended to be a stylized, abstract representation of one of New England’s most iconic trees; the sugar maple.

Constructed using composite materials and steel hardware, the 10-foot tall piece is a stark contrast to the surrounding trees at Livingston-Higley Preserve, at the end of Apple Tree Lane in New Canaan.

The New Canaan Sculpture Trail was created by the New Canaan Land Trust, in partnership with the Carriage Barn Arts Center, to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Earth Day. By joining art and nature, this inaugural outdoor art exhibition promises to uniquely connect residents and visitors to our natural surroundings.

The exhibition features eight juried sculptural installations at six New Canaan Land Trust preserves, the front lawn of the New Canaan Town Hall, and the courtyard of the Carriage Barn Arts Center.

The selected works represent a diverse selection of sculptures and artists. Each sculpture was evaluated by its ability to respond to the geography of the individual properties while meeting the criteria of being visually engaging, interactive, and distinctive.

The mediums of the art are varied — including a series of steel frames holding acrylic sheets, welded steel, wood, rocks, and even a fallen, “upcycled” tree harvested from one of the Land Trust’s preserves. Artists throughout the New York metro area, New England, and as far as Illinois are represented.

Contact Name: Carlos Davila

Contact Email: carlos@carlos-davila.com

Contact Phone: 203-739-5063

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Accessibility Info

No accessibility info available.

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Sat, 09/19/2020All Day---
Sun, 09/20/2020All Day---
Mon, 09/21/2020All Day---
Tue, 09/22/2020All Day---
Wed, 09/23/2020All Day---
Thu, 09/24/2020All Day---
Fri, 09/25/2020All Day---
Sat, 09/26/2020All Day---
Sun, 09/27/2020All Day---
Mon, 09/28/2020All Day---
Tue, 09/29/2020All Day---
Wed, 09/30/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/01/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/02/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/03/2020All Day---
Sun, 10/04/2020All Day---
Mon, 10/05/2020All Day---
Tue, 10/06/2020All Day---
Wed, 10/07/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/08/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/09/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/10/2020All Day---
Sun, 10/11/2020All Day---
Mon, 10/12/2020All Day---
Tue, 10/13/2020All Day---
Wed, 10/14/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/15/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/16/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/17/2020All Day---
Sun, 10/18/2020All Day---
Mon, 10/19/2020All Day---
Tue, 10/20/2020All Day---
Wed, 10/21/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/22/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/23/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/24/2020All Day---
Sun, 10/25/2020All Day---
Mon, 10/26/2020All Day---
Tue, 10/27/2020All Day---
Wed, 10/28/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/29/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/30/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/31/2020All Day---

More Events Like This

The SoNo Collection, #SoNoArtCares: Kristin Schnitzler Live Painting
Visual Arts

The SoNo Collection, #SoNoArtCares: Kristin Schnitzler Live Painting

Discover new works of art at The SoNo Collection. As a hub...

Housatonic Museum of Art: Friday-Night Flick: Double Bill “Irwin” and “A Story of Stone.”
Visual Arts

Housatonic Museum of Art: Friday-Night Flick: Double Bill “Irwin” and “A Story of Stone.”

The CT Film Festival and Housatonic Museum of Art continues its series...

THE NEST
Visual Arts

THE NEST

The Avon Theatre is now screening THE NEST, starring Jude Law. Rory,...

BLACKBIRD
Visual Arts

BLACKBIRD

The Avon Theatre is now screening BLACKBIRD, starring Susan Sarandon, Sam Neill...

Find an Event