On the Edge of the World: Masterworks by Laurits Andersen Ring from SMK—the National Gallery of Denmark

On the Edge of the World: Masterworks by Laurits Andersen Ring from SMK—the National Gallery of Denmark

Bruce Museum

From Feb 01 to May 24, 2020
10:00 am - 5:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Following a five-month construction project, the Bruce Museum is pleased to reopen its newly expanded main art gallery with a major international exhibition: On the Edge of the World: Masterworks by Laurits Andersen Ring from SMK—the National Gallery of Denmark. Initiated by the American Friends of Statens Museum for Kunst, the national gallery of Denmark, the exhibition opens on Saturday, February 1, 2020, and will be on view through Sunday, May 24, 2020.

L.A. Ring (1854-1933), a Realist and Symbolist painter, ranks among the most significant figures in Danish art. The national gallery of Denmark holds the largest collection of Ring’s paintings and drawings. On the Edge of the World showcases 25 of his most important paintings, which represent the key themes, sheer variety, and complexity of his work. The exhibition travels to only two U.S. venues. The Bruce Museum is the only one on the East Coast.

Speaking about this first exhibition outside Scandinavia to be solely devoted to L.A. Ring, Mikkel Bogh, Director of SMK, says: “It is part of our mission at SMK to inspire and spark creative thinking by making the art of our collection known to a wider audience, which includes audiences outside the Nordic region. L.A. Ring was a sensitive and profound interpreter of the changing conditions of human existence at the threshold of modernity, in Denmark and elsewhere. We believe his painting has an appeal to U.S. audiences and that his works, while embedded within specific geographic and historical circumstances, speak to us today in a powerful artistic language that matters as never before.”

Contact Name: Scott Smith

Contact Email: info@brucemuseum.org

Contact Phone: 203-869-0376

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

Adults $10.00; Students (5-22 w/ valid ID) $8.00; Seniors (65 & up) $8.00; Museum members and
children under 5 Free

Phone:
203-869-0376

Email:
info@brucemuseum.org

Venue

Bruce Museum
One Museum Drive
Greenwich, CT 06830

Map and directions

Parking Info

Parking available on-site, including Handicap spaces on upper level near main entrance.

Accessibility Info

  • Audio Description Audio Description
  • Large Print Large Print
  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

The Bruce Museum is accessible to individuals with disabilities.

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Tue, 02/25/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 02/26/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 02/27/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 02/28/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 02/29/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/01/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/03/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/04/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/05/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/06/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 03/07/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/08/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/10/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/11/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/12/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/13/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 03/14/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/15/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/17/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/18/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/19/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/20/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 03/21/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/22/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/24/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/25/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/26/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/27/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 03/28/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/29/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/31/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/01/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/02/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/03/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/04/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/05/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/07/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/08/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/09/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/10/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/11/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/12/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/14/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/15/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/16/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/17/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/18/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/19/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/21/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/22/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/23/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/24/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/25/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/26/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/28/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/29/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/30/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/01/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/02/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/03/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/05/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/06/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/07/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/08/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/09/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/10/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/12/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/13/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/14/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/15/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/16/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/17/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/19/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/20/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/21/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/22/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/23/202010:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/24/202010:00 am5:00 pm

More Events Like This

Tom Kretsch – Touching Maine : Soul and Spirit
Visual Arts

Tom Kretsch – Touching Maine : Soul and Spirit

The photographic exhibit "Touching Maine, Soul and Spirit," features work by Westport...

Unfolding Dialogue: Four Voices
Visual Arts

Unfolding Dialogue: Four Voices

Group show of four acclaimed Contemporary artists: Donald Martiny; Carolanna Parlato; Carin...

Linda Colletta: The Sound of Color
Visual Arts

Linda Colletta: The Sound of Color

Southport Galleries is honored to present The Sound of Color, a solo...

“Under the Skin” Science Exhibition
Science & Nature

“Under the Skin” Science Exhibition

On February 1, 2020, a fascinating new exhibition that explores the intersection...

Find an Event