fbpx
Rebels and Redcoats: The Aftermath of the Battle of Ridgefield Exhibition

Rebels and Redcoats: The Aftermath of the Battle of Ridgefield Exhibition

Wilton Historical Society

From Jul 02 to Oct 30, 2021
10:00 am - 4:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

In April, 1777, war came to Wilton. After burning part of Danbury and destroying Continental Army supplies, British troops under General William Tryon marched through Wilton on their way back to Westport and their fleet. With a sudden alarm sent throughout Connecticut warning of a British invasion, many hastily assembled soldiers fought to repel the enemy from their homes. Now open, the Wilton Historical Society presents “Rebels and Redcoats: The Aftermath of the Battle of Ridgefield”, an exhibition which explores the actions of British, Patriots, and civilians involved in the Revolutionary War action known as the Raid on Danbury, with a particular focus on the march of British troops south down Ridgefield Road through Wilton.

Wilton resident John Reznikoff, a historic document expert, has loaned the highlight of the exhibition - an extraordinary piece of correspondence between Patriot Generals David Wooster and Selleck Silliman. The rare 1777 document, which may be the last one sent by General Wooster before he was mortally wounded at the Battle of Ridgefield the following day, is displayed along with other historic artifacts and documents from the Permanent Collection of the Wilton Historical Society.

The exhibition extends through October 30.

Contact Email: info@wiltonhistorical.org

Contact Phone: 2037627257

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Phone:
2037627257

Email:
info@wiltonhistorical.org

Venue

Wilton Historical Society
224 Danbury Road
Wilton, CT 06897

Map and directions

Parking Info

Parking available on site

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Stair Lift Available

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Tue, 08/03/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 08/04/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 08/05/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 08/06/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 08/07/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 08/10/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 08/11/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 08/12/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 08/13/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 08/14/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 08/17/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 08/18/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 08/19/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 08/20/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 08/21/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 08/24/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 08/25/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 08/26/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 08/27/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 08/28/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 08/31/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 09/01/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 09/02/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 09/03/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 09/04/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 09/07/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 09/08/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 09/09/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 09/10/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 09/11/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 09/14/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 09/15/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 09/16/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 09/17/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 09/18/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 09/21/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 09/22/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 09/23/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 09/24/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 09/25/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 09/28/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 09/29/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 09/30/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 10/01/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 10/02/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 10/05/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 10/06/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 10/07/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 10/08/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 10/09/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 10/12/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 10/13/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 10/14/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 10/15/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 10/16/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 10/19/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 10/20/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 10/21/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 10/22/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 10/23/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 10/26/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 10/27/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 10/28/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 10/29/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 10/30/202110:00 am4:00 pm

More Events Like This

History Through the Artist’s Eye co sponsored by the Stamford Art Association and the Stamford History Center
Visual Arts

History Through the Artist’s Eye co sponsored by the Stamford Art Association and the Stamford History Center

The Stamford Art Association and the Stamford History Center present an in...

ROADRUNNER
Film

ROADRUNNER

The Avon Theatre presents screenings of ROADRUNNER: A FILM ABOUT ANTHONY BOURDAIN....

“Enduring Wonder:” SM&NC 85th Anniversary Exhibition – A Retrospective of our Art, Treasures & Curiosities
Visual Arts

“Enduring Wonder:” SM&NC 85th Anniversary Exhibition – A Retrospective of our Art, Treasures & Curiosities

Enduring Wonder celebrates the 85th Anniversary of the Stamford Museum & Nature...

Clarity Haynes: Collective Transmission
Visual Arts

Clarity Haynes: Collective Transmission

In April 2021, The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum will inaugurate Aldrich Projects,...

Find an Even