“Riot, Sedition, Insurrection.” Exhibition closed; opening reception talk by Yale University’s George Miles available for view

“Riot, Sedition, Insurrection.” Exhibition closed; opening reception talk by Yale University’s George Miles available for view

Pequot Library

From Mar 05 to May 03, 2020
10:00 am - 6:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Media and the Road to the American Revolution

The exhibition is closed for the duration of the COVID-19 crisis. However, a video is available of the engaging opening reception talk by George Miles from Yale University's Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. See video link below.

In the years preceding the American Revolution, printing presses in the thirteen colonies churned out a wave of seditious literature. A swirl of pamphlets, posters, newspapers, and other print media, not often grounded in fact, fomented a climate of rebellion against the British crown.

This exhibition brings visitors through the pamphlets that memorialized and politicized key events in the early years of Revolution, from the Stamp Act to the Boston Massacre to the Battle of Bunker Hill. By looking at the same works that circulated in the streets, coffeehouses, and homes of Revolutionary-era Americans, we can experience the media environment that shifted public opinion from loyalty to rebellion.

Many of Pequot Library’s treasures of early Americana are on view, including several items from our collection on long-term deposit at The Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Yale University and our 1776 edition of Thomas Paine’s incendiary essay "Common Sense."

Contact Name: Front Desk

Contact Email: cumby@pequotlibrary.org

Contact Phone: 203-259-0346

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Phone:
203-259-0346

Email:
cumby@pequotlibrary.org

Venue

Pequot Library
720 Pequot Avenue
Southport, CT 06890

Map and directions

Parking Info

Parking lot with accessible parking and wheelchair ramp are in the rear of the Library.

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Tue, 04/07/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 04/08/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 04/09/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 04/10/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 04/11/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 04/12/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Mon, 04/13/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 04/14/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 04/15/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 04/16/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 04/17/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 04/18/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 04/19/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Mon, 04/20/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 04/21/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 04/22/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 04/23/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 04/24/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 04/25/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 04/26/202012:00 pm4:00 pm
Mon, 04/27/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Tue, 04/28/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Wed, 04/29/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Thu, 04/30/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Fri, 05/01/202010:00 am6:00 pm
Sat, 05/02/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 05/03/202012:00 pm4:00 pm

More Events Like This

Unfolding Dialogue: Four Voices. Gallery Closed: Exhibition Available Online
Visual Arts

Unfolding Dialogue: Four Voices. Gallery Closed: Exhibition Available Online

Group show of four acclaimed Contemporary artists: Donald Martiny; Carolanna Parlato; Carin...

Online Workshop – Photoshop Basics 1
Digital

Online Workshop – Photoshop Basics 1

As its name indicates, this tutorial is a general overview of Photoshop...

Facebook Live Wednesdays: April 1 Miniature Horses
Digital

Facebook Live Wednesdays: April 1 Miniature Horses

Every Wednesday at 2:00 p.m., we're joining a Zookeeper/Animal Care Specialist for...

“Kathleen Kucka: Slow Burn.”  Gallery closed; exhibition available online
Visual Arts

“Kathleen Kucka: Slow Burn.” Gallery closed; exhibition available online

Heather Gaudio Fine Art is pleased to announce “Kathleen Kucka: Slow Burn,”...

Find an Event