“Roots & Roads” Curated by Anita N. Bateman

“Roots & Roads” Curated by Anita N. Bateman

Franklin Street Works

From Feb 09 to May 17, 2020
All Day


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

On view from February 8 – May 17, 2020, Roots & Roads is a group show curated by Anita N. Bateman which theorizes a connection between hair and landscape as navigational modes for black cultural expression. The exhibition title plays on homophones “roots” and “routes,” examining the multiple meanings of each in relation to history. Hair and land have been central to ideologies of black freedom and agency; the works in the show engage the visual similarities and symbolic associations between land and hair as sites for liberatory practices on the continent and in the African diaspora, and as avenues for historical memory and resistance. Exploring various social pressures, these works align contemporary renditions of self affirmation with inherited legacies.

Exhibiting Artists
Nakeya Brown, Becci Davis, Morel Doucet, Adama Delphine Fawundu, Wangui Maina, Nontsikelelo Mutiti, Katarra LaRae Peterson, Jay Simple, JulianKnxx, Bryan Keith Thomas, Nafis White, Andrew Wilson, and Nadia Wolff.

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Venue

Franklin Street Works
41 Franklin St.
Stamford, CT 06901

Map and directions

Parking Info

There are 3-hour parking meters just outside the entrance to the gallery on Franklin Street that are free after 7 p.m., and 25 cents per 15 minutes before 7p.m. There is a lot with an attendant on Franklin Street just a couple of doors down on the right side of the street (closer to Broad Street) from Franklin Street Works. Rates are variable. There are also a number of parking garages nearby. The nearest are:

Target
Entrance on Broad; $1 for the first 2 hours, then $2/hour, $11/day.

Summer Street Garage
Entrances on Lower Summer, Broad or Washington Blvd. Northbound;
$1/hour, $9/day, there is also an evening rate of $3/evening
Sat. & Sun. are free until 5pm.

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Franklin Street Works has an ADA compliant ramp to our back door on the first floor and is accessible from Franklin St. Once inside there is an elevator and bathrooms are spacious but do not have grab bars.

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Thu, 02/27/2020All Day---
Fri, 02/28/2020All Day---
Sat, 02/29/2020All Day---
Sun, 03/01/2020All Day---
Thu, 03/05/2020All Day---
Fri, 03/06/2020All Day---
Sat, 03/07/2020All Day---
Sun, 03/08/2020All Day---
Thu, 03/12/2020All Day---
Fri, 03/13/2020All Day---
Sat, 03/14/2020All Day---
Sun, 03/15/2020All Day---
Thu, 03/19/2020All Day---
Fri, 03/20/2020All Day---
Sat, 03/21/2020All Day---
Sun, 03/22/2020All Day---
Thu, 03/26/2020All Day---
Fri, 03/27/2020All Day---
Sat, 03/28/2020All Day---
Sun, 03/29/2020All Day---
Thu, 04/02/2020All Day---
Fri, 04/03/2020All Day---
Sat, 04/04/2020All Day---
Sun, 04/05/2020All Day---
Thu, 04/09/2020All Day---
Fri, 04/10/2020All Day---
Sat, 04/11/2020All Day---
Sun, 04/12/2020All Day---
Thu, 04/16/2020All Day---
Fri, 04/17/2020All Day---
Sat, 04/18/2020All Day---
Sun, 04/19/2020All Day---
Thu, 04/23/2020All Day---
Fri, 04/24/2020All Day---
Sat, 04/25/2020All Day---
Sun, 04/26/2020All Day---
Thu, 04/30/2020All Day---
Fri, 05/01/2020All Day---
Sat, 05/02/2020All Day---
Sun, 05/03/2020All Day---
Thu, 05/07/2020All Day---
Fri, 05/08/2020All Day---
Sat, 05/09/2020All Day---
Sun, 05/10/2020All Day---
Thu, 05/14/2020All Day---
Fri, 05/15/2020All Day---
Sat, 05/16/2020All Day---
Sun, 05/17/2020All Day---

More Events Like This

Tom Kretsch – Touching Maine : Soul and Spirit
Visual Arts

Tom Kretsch – Touching Maine : Soul and Spirit

The photographic exhibit "Touching Maine, Soul and Spirit," features work by Westport...

Linda Colletta: The Sound of Color
Visual Arts

Linda Colletta: The Sound of Color

Southport Galleries is honored to present The Sound of Color, a solo...

Shepard Fairey – “Facing the Giant: 3 Decades of Dissent”
Visual Arts

Shepard Fairey – “Facing the Giant: 3 Decades of Dissent”

Samuel Owen Gallery is pleased to present an exhibition of Shepard Fairey's...

Open VISIONS Forum: Espresso Richard Wiese “Kick the Bucket List: An Explorer’s Notebook”
Literature & Lectures

Open VISIONS Forum: Espresso Richard Wiese “Kick the Bucket List: An Explorer’s Notebook”

Since climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro at the early age of 11, Richard Wiese...

Find an Event