“Scream and Shout” the art of Carlos Bautista Biernnay

“Scream and Shout” the art of Carlos Bautista Biernnay

City Lights Gallery

From Sep 11 to Oct 31, 2020
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

”Scream and Shout” the art of Carlos Bautista Biernnay opens as a one person show at City Lights Gallery on 9/11/2020, running until October 31, 2020. An online version of the exhibit to go live on the City Lights website citylightsgallery.org  by October 1. Gallery hours are W-F 12-5, Sat 12-4 or by appointment. Gallery address is 265Golden Hill St. Bridgeport, CT
 
Like a contemporary Goya, who created of Los Caprichos, Carlos combines the macabre with whimsy and his love of fabrics with sophisticated composition and absurd imagery. His prolific body of large scale textile collages and embroidery are fueled by his personal reaction to the events on September 11, both in the USA and in Chile. 

As an artist, resonates with Dadaism, which was the reaction of artists like Marcel Duchamp, to World War I. Carlos studied art inNew York. Years later he returned to NYC and was confronted with the fate ofthe World Trade Center. Those same excruciating feelings of peril and atrocity that he experienced as a child came rushing back.

Humans are blessed to have artists/empaths, like Carlos Bautista Biernnay who are on this planet to hold a mirror to our actions, motivations and feelings. They absorb the pain and joy, the beautiful and the ugly. Their release is to synthesize what they have collected and to create art, the reflection of humanity. As an absurdist, Carlos is not judgmental. His art is a touchstone combining whimsy and the macabre, leaving it to the viewers to think and feel for themselves.

Contact Name: City Lights

Contact Email: clgallerybpt@gmail.com

Contact Phone: 12033347748

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

No ticket info available.

Venue

City Lights Gallery
265 Golden Hill St
Bridgeport, CT 06604

Map and directions

Parking Info

On street or pay-to-park

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Street Level

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Sat, 09/19/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sun, 09/20/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 09/21/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 09/22/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 09/23/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 09/24/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 09/25/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 09/26/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sun, 09/27/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 09/28/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 09/29/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 09/30/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 10/01/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 10/02/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 10/03/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sun, 10/04/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 10/05/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 10/06/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 10/07/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 10/08/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 10/09/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 10/10/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sun, 10/11/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 10/12/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 10/13/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 10/14/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 10/15/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 10/16/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 10/17/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sun, 10/18/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 10/19/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 10/20/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 10/21/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 10/22/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 10/23/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 10/24/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sun, 10/25/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Mon, 10/26/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Tue, 10/27/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Wed, 10/28/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Thu, 10/29/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Fri, 10/30/202012:00 pm5:00 pm
Sat, 10/31/202012:00 pm5:00 pm

More Events Like This

Housatonic Museum of Art: Friday-Night Flick: Double Bill “Irwin” and “A Story of Stone.”
Visual Arts

Housatonic Museum of Art: Friday-Night Flick: Double Bill “Irwin” and “A Story of Stone.”

The CT Film Festival and Housatonic Museum of Art continues its series...

THE NEST
Visual Arts

THE NEST

The Avon Theatre is now screening THE NEST, starring Jude Law. Rory,...

BLACKBIRD
Visual Arts

BLACKBIRD

The Avon Theatre is now screening BLACKBIRD, starring Susan Sarandon, Sam Neill...

Kat Evans Art at Pearl@Longshore Gallery
Visual Arts

Kat Evans Art at Pearl@Longshore Gallery

Solo show of Westport based artist Kat Evans' vibrant abstract art at...

Find an Event