The Golden Door

The Golden Door

Silvermine Arts Center

From Oct 31 to Jan 16, 2021
10:00 am - 4:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

This major exhibition examines the complex histories and cultural identities that define and enrich contemporary America. “I lift my lamp beside the golden door!” is the closing line of Emma Lazarus’s poem engraved on the Statue of Liberty’s plaque welcoming newcomers to the U.S.

The artists’ works explore their varied cultural heritages and experiences. The Golden Door will illuminate personal and collective experience while also exploring the concept of displacement, the deep divides of our history as a nation, and the enduring idea of the American dream.

The exhibition will feature works of art by:
● Lois Bielefeld and Nirmal Raja working collaboratively (they are from Chicago and Milwaukee respectively);
● Eric Chiang of Westport, CT;
● Susan Clinard of New Haven, CT;
● Mohamad Hafez of New Haven, CT;
● Ana Maria Hernando of Boulder, CO;
● Shantell Martin of Jersey City, NJ;
● Debra Priestly of Saugerties, NY;
● Rick Shaefer of Bridgeport, CT;
● Sofie Swann of Stamford, CT; and
● Taro Takizawa of Syracuse, NY.

Dr. Robin Jaffee Frank conceived and planned The Golden Door exhibition, having formerly served as chief curator at the Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art and curator at the Yale University Art Gallery. Additional curatorial input came from Barbara O’Brien, Milwaukee-based independent curator and critic and former executive director of the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art, and Roger Mudre, Silvermine Gallery Director. Michelle Loh, a New York City-based art advisor and gallery director will produce video interviews with the Golden Door artists that will be premiered weekly on the Silvermine Galleries YouTube channel. The interviews will provide individual perspective on the artists and their work—uncovering personal stories and illuminating the ways in which the artists’ experience of immigration or migration informs their art.

The Golden Door is made possible by a grant from CT Humanities. Silvermine Arts Center is grateful for their generous support.

Contact Name: Gallery

Contact Email: gallery@silvermineart.org

Contact Phone: 2032-966-9700 x3

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Phone:
203-966-9700x3

Email:
gallery@silvermineart.org

Venue

Silvermine Arts Center
Silvermine Art Center, 1037 Silvermine Rd
New Canaan, CT 06840

Map and directions

Parking Info

Free parking

Accessibility Info

  • Info Info
  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Thu, 12/03/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 12/04/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 12/05/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 12/06/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 12/07/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 12/08/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 12/09/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 12/10/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 12/11/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 12/12/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 12/13/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 12/14/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 12/15/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 12/16/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 12/17/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 12/18/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 12/19/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 12/20/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 12/21/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 12/22/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 12/23/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 12/24/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 12/25/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 12/26/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 12/27/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 12/28/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 12/29/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 12/30/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 12/31/202010:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 01/01/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 01/02/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 01/03/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 01/04/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 01/05/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 01/06/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 01/07/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 01/08/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 01/09/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sun, 01/10/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Mon, 01/11/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Tue, 01/12/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Wed, 01/13/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Thu, 01/14/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Fri, 01/15/202110:00 am4:00 pm
Sat, 01/16/202110:00 am4:00 pm

More Events Like This

Say the Word Art Exhibit
Visual Arts

Say the Word Art Exhibit

isit an exhibit of the work of artist and jewelry designer Joanie...

Abstract is Not a Style: Five Women Painters
Visual Arts

Abstract is Not a Style: Five Women Painters

Hollis Taggart is pleased to announce "Abstract is Not a Style: Five...

About Women
History & Heritage

About Women

After temporarily closing on March 23, the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum is...

Artist in Residence – Nancy Moore
Visual Arts

Artist in Residence – Nancy Moore

Nancy Moore portrays women who are neither conventionally beautiful nor engaged in...

Find an Event