fbpx
The Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum’s 8th Annual Young Writer’s Competition

The Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum’s 8th Annual Young Writer’s Competition

Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum

From Feb 01 to Jun 04, 2021
9:00 am - 5:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

The Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum will launch its eighth annual Young Writers’ Competition on February 1, 2021. The competition titled, A Scientist Visits the Mansion, will end on June 4, 2021 with an awards ceremony on Sunday, Nov. 21, 2021. The competition is open to all middle school students sixth through eighth grade in the Tristate area.

Participants will be tasked to write a story of a fictional event taking place at the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion between 1868 and 1938. The cast of characters must include a doctor or scientist who became famous or infamous during the mid-to-late 19th century and members of the Lockwood or Mathews families. Young writers will learn about the families’ history, read biographies of the doctors and scientists, and explore the rooms in the Mansion where the event described could have taken place, using the Museum’s website as a reference. Students will create a short story that will include at least one doctor or scientist weaved into this narrative, and can introduce fictional friends visiting the Mansion as well. Short stories submitted cannot be of a violent nature.

The deadline for submissions is Friday, June 4 and competition winners will be notified by mid-September. Competition winners and their families will be Guests of Honor at the Awards Ceremony on Sunday, Nov. 21, 2021, 2-4 p.m. Requirements and guidelines for the competition will be posted on the Museum’s website and on flyers.

For more information on LMMM’s Young Writers’ Competition, school tours and sending submissions, please contact Education Program Director Iliana Begetis, 203-838-9799, ext. 6, or email: education@lockwoodmathewsmansion.com.

The Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum is located at 295 West Avenue in Norwalk. Student tours are offered February through December. For more information on tours and programs, please visit www.lockwoodmathewsmansion.com, e-mail info@lockwoodmathewsmansion.com, or call 203-838-9799.

The Museum’s 2021 cultural and educational programs are made possible in part by generous funding from LMMM’s Founding Patrons: The Estate of Mrs. Cynthia Clark Brown; LMMM’s Leadership Patrons: The Sealark Foundation; LMMM’s 2021 Season Distinguished Benefactors: The City of Norwalk and The Maurice Goodman Foundation; LMMM’s 2021 Distinguished Benefactors for Education: The Daphne Seybolt Culpeper Memorial Foundation, Inc.

Contact Name: Susan Gilgore

Contact Email: info@lockwoodmathewsmansion.com

Contact Phone: 203-838-9799

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Submissions open from Feb. 1st to Jun. 4th

Venue

Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum
295 West Ave
Norwalk, CT 06850

Map and directions

Parking Info

The Museum has on-site parking.

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Sun, 03/07/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 03/08/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/09/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/10/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/11/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/12/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 03/13/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/14/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 03/15/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/16/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/17/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/18/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/19/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 03/20/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/21/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 03/22/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/23/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/24/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 03/25/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 03/26/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 03/27/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 03/28/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 03/29/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 03/30/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 03/31/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/01/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/02/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/03/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/04/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 04/05/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/06/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/07/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/08/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/09/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/10/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/11/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 04/12/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/13/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/14/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/15/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/16/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/17/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/18/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 04/19/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/20/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/21/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/22/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/23/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/24/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/25/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 04/26/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/27/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/28/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/29/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/30/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/01/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/02/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 05/03/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/04/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/05/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/06/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/07/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/08/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/09/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 05/10/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/11/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/12/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/13/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/14/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/15/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/16/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 05/17/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/18/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/19/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/20/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/21/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/22/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/23/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 05/24/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/25/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/26/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/27/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/28/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/29/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/30/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 05/31/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 06/01/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 06/02/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 06/03/20219:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 06/04/20219:00 am5:00 pm

More Events Like This

Say the Word Art Exhibit
Visual Arts

Say the Word Art Exhibit

isit an exhibit of the work of artist and jewelry designer Joanie...

Maritime Garage Gallery “Splash”  Virtual Exhibit
Visual Arts

Maritime Garage Gallery “Splash” Virtual Exhibit

The City of Norwalk Parking Authority’s Maritime Garage Gallery is holding its...

“sometimes i feel like im not really here.” solo exhibit of Claude Desir Jr.
Music

“sometimes i feel like im not really here.” solo exhibit of Claude Desir Jr.

View and learn about Claude Desir Jr's art both onsite at City...

Winter Writing Workshops
Classes & Workshops

Winter Writing Workshops

Over 35 new and returning workshops -- from fiction, short story writing,...

Find an Event