Valeria Nascimento: BLOOM

Heather Gaudio Fine Art

From May 03 to Jun 22, 2019
10:30 am - 5:30 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Heather Gaudio Fine Art is pleased to announce Valeria Nascimento: BLOOM, the Brazilian artist’s first solo exhibition at the gallery. The show will open with a public reception on Friday, May 3rd, 5-7pm and will run through June 22nd.

Nature is the main source of inspiration for Nascimento, its beauty, essence and ephemerality rendered in delicate porcelain sculpture. The Brazilian artist’s architectural background informs the structure of her designs in interior spaces, making them small, intimate compositions or oversized site-specific installations. Painstakingly rolling the porcelain ceramic to make it paper-thin, Nascimento cuts and sculpts her shapes before they are fired at high temperatures. Delicate rings, blossoms, petals, cups and other botanical elements emerge from the kilns, their colors transformed into soft, muted tones of creams, whites, blues, greys and blacks.

The small sculptures are arranged in clusters and systems to create large blooms and other flora encased in Perspex or mounted directly onto the wall. These works will be featured alongside two large-scale installations for which she is known. The first, an explosion of hibiscus blossoms in white and grey hues will grace an entire gallery wall measuring over 100 feet. Rainforest, a more immersive hanging mobile installation, will transform the gallery space to an environment with suspended petals, flowers, seeds, branches and other natural forms. Nascimento takes the viewer on a meditative journey through botanical scenery, providing an ethereal experience with the weightlessness of the material.

Contact Name: Rachael Palacios

Contact Email: rachael@heathergaudiofineart.com

Contact Phone: 12038019590

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Venue

Heather Gaudio Fine Art
66 Elm Street
New Canaan, CT 06840

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Sun, 05/19/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Mon, 05/20/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Tue, 05/21/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Wed, 05/22/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Thu, 05/23/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Fri, 05/24/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Sat, 05/25/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Sun, 05/26/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Mon, 05/27/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Tue, 05/28/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Wed, 05/29/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Thu, 05/30/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Fri, 05/31/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Sat, 06/01/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Sun, 06/02/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Mon, 06/03/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Tue, 06/04/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Wed, 06/05/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Thu, 06/06/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Fri, 06/07/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Sat, 06/08/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Sun, 06/09/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Mon, 06/10/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Tue, 06/11/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Wed, 06/12/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Thu, 06/13/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Fri, 06/14/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Sat, 06/15/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Sun, 06/16/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Mon, 06/17/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Tue, 06/18/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Wed, 06/19/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Thu, 06/20/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Fri, 06/21/201910:30 am5:30 pm
Sat, 06/22/201910:30 am5:30 pm

More Events Like This

Harmony Hammond: Material Witness, Five Decades of Art
Visual Arts

Harmony Hammond: Material Witness, Five Decades of Art

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum is pleased to present the first museum...

Maggie Taylor is Seeing Things
Visual Arts

Maggie Taylor is Seeing Things

Artists’ Market is pleased to present an exhibition of extraordinary images by...

N. Dash
Visual Arts

N. Dash

The Aldrich is staging the first East Coast museum exhibition of artist...

Rusted Relics: Photographs by Lisa Berger and Tara Tomaselli
Visual Arts

Rusted Relics: Photographs by Lisa Berger and Tara Tomaselli

"Rusted Relics" is a two-artist exhibition of color photographs by Lisa Berger...

Find an Event