Westport Library: Westport’s Suffragists—Our Neighbors, Our Crusaders: The 19th Amendment Turns 100

Westport Library: Westport’s Suffragists—Our Neighbors, Our Crusaders: The 19th Amendment Turns 100

Westport Library Website

From Apr 01 to Dec 31, 2020
All Day


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

An innovative, virtual exhbit of the forgotten history of Westport’s suffragists and their fight for women’s right to vote.

Our Neighbors, Our Crusaders uncovers for the first time the career and political triumphs of suffragists who made Westport home, and also honors over 50 Westport women, many of whose given names and identities are nearly forgotten. These wives, widows, mothers, sisters and daughters ventured out from their parlors and onto the streets to fight for voting rights. Together, they crisscrossed neighborhoods canvassing for votes, delivered soapbox speeches at factories and participated in meetings, fundraisers, rallies and parades to champion the ideology of “Our Vote, Our Future,” this year’s WestportREADS’ slogan.

Westport’s Suffragists—Our Neighbors, Our Crusaders is generously supported by the Estate of Jerry A. Tishman, Drew Friedman Community Arts Center, and Connecticut Humanities.

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Accessibility Info

No accessibility info available.

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Fri, 07/10/2020All Day---
Sat, 07/11/2020All Day---
Sun, 07/12/2020All Day---
Mon, 07/13/2020All Day---
Tue, 07/14/2020All Day---
Wed, 07/15/2020All Day---
Thu, 07/16/2020All Day---
Fri, 07/17/2020All Day---
Sat, 07/18/2020All Day---
Sun, 07/19/2020All Day---
Mon, 07/20/2020All Day---
Tue, 07/21/2020All Day---
Wed, 07/22/2020All Day---
Thu, 07/23/2020All Day---
Fri, 07/24/2020All Day---
Sat, 07/25/2020All Day---
Sun, 07/26/2020All Day---
Mon, 07/27/2020All Day---
Tue, 07/28/2020All Day---
Wed, 07/29/2020All Day---
Thu, 07/30/2020All Day---
Fri, 07/31/2020All Day---
Sat, 08/01/2020All Day---
Sun, 08/02/2020All Day---
Mon, 08/03/2020All Day---
Tue, 08/04/2020All Day---
Wed, 08/05/2020All Day---
Thu, 08/06/2020All Day---
Fri, 08/07/2020All Day---
Sat, 08/08/2020All Day---
Sun, 08/09/2020All Day---
Mon, 08/10/2020All Day---
Tue, 08/11/2020All Day---
Wed, 08/12/2020All Day---
Thu, 08/13/2020All Day---
Fri, 08/14/2020All Day---
Sat, 08/15/2020All Day---
Sun, 08/16/2020All Day---
Mon, 08/17/2020All Day---
Tue, 08/18/2020All Day---
Wed, 08/19/2020All Day---
Thu, 08/20/2020All Day---
Fri, 08/21/2020All Day---
Sat, 08/22/2020All Day---
Sun, 08/23/2020All Day---
Mon, 08/24/2020All Day---
Tue, 08/25/2020All Day---
Wed, 08/26/2020All Day---
Thu, 08/27/2020All Day---
Fri, 08/28/2020All Day---
Sat, 08/29/2020All Day---
Sun, 08/30/2020All Day---
Mon, 08/31/2020All Day---
Tue, 09/01/2020All Day---
Wed, 09/02/2020All Day---
Thu, 09/03/2020All Day---
Fri, 09/04/2020All Day---
Sat, 09/05/2020All Day---
Sun, 09/06/2020All Day---
Mon, 09/07/2020All Day---
Tue, 09/08/2020All Day---
Wed, 09/09/2020All Day---
Thu, 09/10/2020All Day---
Fri, 09/11/2020All Day---
Sat, 09/12/2020All Day---
Sun, 09/13/2020All Day---
Mon, 09/14/2020All Day---
Tue, 09/15/2020All Day---
Wed, 09/16/2020All Day---
Thu, 09/17/2020All Day---
Fri, 09/18/2020All Day---
Sat, 09/19/2020All Day---
Sun, 09/20/2020All Day---
Mon, 09/21/2020All Day---
Tue, 09/22/2020All Day---
Wed, 09/23/2020All Day---
Thu, 09/24/2020All Day---
Fri, 09/25/2020All Day---
Sat, 09/26/2020All Day---
Sun, 09/27/2020All Day---
Mon, 09/28/2020All Day---
Tue, 09/29/2020All Day---
Wed, 09/30/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/01/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/02/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/03/2020All Day---
Sun, 10/04/2020All Day---
Mon, 10/05/2020All Day---
Tue, 10/06/2020All Day---
Wed, 10/07/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/08/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/09/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/10/2020All Day---
Sun, 10/11/2020All Day---
Mon, 10/12/2020All Day---
Tue, 10/13/2020All Day---
Wed, 10/14/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/15/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/16/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/17/2020All Day---
Sun, 10/18/2020All Day---
Mon, 10/19/2020All Day---
Tue, 10/20/2020All Day---
Wed, 10/21/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/22/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/23/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/24/2020All Day---
Sun, 10/25/2020All Day---
Mon, 10/26/2020All Day---
Tue, 10/27/2020All Day---
Wed, 10/28/2020All Day---
Thu, 10/29/2020All Day---
Fri, 10/30/2020All Day---
Sat, 10/31/2020All Day---
Sun, 11/01/2020All Day---
Mon, 11/02/2020All Day---
Tue, 11/03/2020All Day---
Wed, 11/04/2020All Day---
Thu, 11/05/2020All Day---
Fri, 11/06/2020All Day---
Sat, 11/07/2020All Day---
Sun, 11/08/2020All Day---
Mon, 11/09/2020All Day---
Tue, 11/10/2020All Day---
Wed, 11/11/2020All Day---
Thu, 11/12/2020All Day---
Fri, 11/13/2020All Day---
Sat, 11/14/2020All Day---
Sun, 11/15/2020All Day---
Mon, 11/16/2020All Day---
Tue, 11/17/2020All Day---
Wed, 11/18/2020All Day---
Thu, 11/19/2020All Day---
Fri, 11/20/2020All Day---
Sat, 11/21/2020All Day---
Sun, 11/22/2020All Day---
Mon, 11/23/2020All Day---
Tue, 11/24/2020All Day---
Wed, 11/25/2020All Day---
Thu, 11/26/2020All Day---
Fri, 11/27/2020All Day---
Sat, 11/28/2020All Day---
Sun, 11/29/2020All Day---
Mon, 11/30/2020All Day---
Tue, 12/01/2020All Day---
Wed, 12/02/2020All Day---
Thu, 12/03/2020All Day---
Fri, 12/04/2020All Day---
Sat, 12/05/2020All Day---
Sun, 12/06/2020All Day---
Mon, 12/07/2020All Day---
Tue, 12/08/2020All Day---
Wed, 12/09/2020All Day---
Thu, 12/10/2020All Day---
Fri, 12/11/2020All Day---
Sat, 12/12/2020All Day---
Sun, 12/13/2020All Day---
Mon, 12/14/2020All Day---
Tue, 12/15/2020All Day---
Wed, 12/16/2020All Day---
Thu, 12/17/2020All Day---
Fri, 12/18/2020All Day---
Sat, 12/19/2020All Day---
Sun, 12/20/2020All Day---
Mon, 12/21/2020All Day---
Tue, 12/22/2020All Day---
Wed, 12/23/2020All Day---
Thu, 12/24/2020All Day---
Fri, 12/25/2020All Day---
Sat, 12/26/2020All Day---
Sun, 12/27/2020All Day---
Mon, 12/28/2020All Day---
Tue, 12/29/2020All Day---
Wed, 12/30/2020All Day---
Thu, 12/31/2020All Day---

More Events Like This

Bruce Museum Virtual Exhibition: The Changing Face of the Bruce Museum
History & Heritage

Bruce Museum Virtual Exhibition: The Changing Face of the Bruce Museum

The Bruce Museum has existed for 108 years – it was founded...

Artists in Residence
Visual Arts

Artists in Residence

Westport Artist, and founding member of the Artists Collective of Westport, Miggs...

JOHN LEWIS: GOOD TROUBLE
Visual Arts

JOHN LEWIS: GOOD TROUBLE

The Avon Theatre presents an Avon Online screening of a great new...

Greenwich Historical Society Exhibition on Women’s Suffrage Centennial Reopens for Extended Period
Visual Arts

Greenwich Historical Society Exhibition on Women’s Suffrage Centennial Reopens for Extended Period

Exhibition Spotlighting Local Women Who Spearheaded Passage of the 19th Amendment to...

Find an Event