fbpx
Virtual Exhibition: Birds of the Northeast: Gulls to Great Auks

Virtual Exhibition: Birds of the Northeast: Gulls to Great Auks

Fairfield University Art Museum

From Jan 22 to Dec 31, 2021
All Day


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

"Birds of the Northeast: Gulls to Great Auks" features paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, and natural history specimens from the early 19th century through the present day. Beyond merely connecting us to the natural world, the artworks in this exhibition remind us of the toll taken on bird habitats since the beginning of European colonialism in North America; the delicate ecosystems that allow birds of all species to thrive came under attack, as birds were hunted for food and ornamentation and their habitats were destroyed.

This exhibition celebrates local birds that we know well and continue to enjoy, while being reminded that worldwide, over 150 bird species have already been driven to extinction, and an estimated 1,200 more are estimated to follow over the next century if action is not taken.

Wall labels and brochure texts, which will be bilingual (Spanish), coupled with virtual tours and programming will address how specific birds in the exhibition contribute to the ecosystem, the threats they face in their habitats, and the ongoing efforts to preserve these species and the ecosystems of which they are part. This unique interdisciplinary exhibition demonstrates the ways in which art and science can join forces to raise awareness not only of the importance of saving bird habitats, but the preservation of our broader natural environment. The museum is proud to partner with the Pequot Library, the Fairfield chapter of CT Audubon, and the Greenwich Audubon Center in presenting the programming for this exhibition.

Contact Email: museum@fairfield.edu

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Venue

Fairfield University Art Museum
200 Barlow Road
Fairfield, CT 06824

Map and directions

Parking Info

The FUAM is located on the lower level of Bellarmine Hall. Parking is available in front of Bellarmine Hall and in front of the Quick Center for the Arts. Handicap parking is available next to the museum’s service and classroom entrance on the lower level of Bellarmine Hall. The Walsh Gallery is located in the Quick Center for the Arts. Parking is available in front of the building.

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Sun, 09/19/2021All Day---
Mon, 09/20/2021All Day---
Tue, 09/21/2021All Day---
Wed, 09/22/2021All Day---
Thu, 09/23/2021All Day---
Fri, 09/24/2021All Day---
Sat, 09/25/2021All Day---
Sun, 09/26/2021All Day---
Mon, 09/27/2021All Day---
Tue, 09/28/2021All Day---
Wed, 09/29/2021All Day---
Thu, 09/30/2021All Day---
Fri, 10/01/2021All Day---
Sat, 10/02/2021All Day---
Sun, 10/03/2021All Day---
Mon, 10/04/2021All Day---
Tue, 10/05/2021All Day---
Wed, 10/06/2021All Day---
Thu, 10/07/2021All Day---
Fri, 10/08/2021All Day---
Sat, 10/09/2021All Day---
Sun, 10/10/2021All Day---
Mon, 10/11/2021All Day---
Tue, 10/12/2021All Day---
Wed, 10/13/2021All Day---
Thu, 10/14/2021All Day---
Fri, 10/15/2021All Day---
Sat, 10/16/2021All Day---
Sun, 10/17/2021All Day---
Mon, 10/18/2021All Day---
Tue, 10/19/2021All Day---
Wed, 10/20/2021All Day---
Thu, 10/21/2021All Day---
Fri, 10/22/2021All Day---
Sat, 10/23/2021All Day---
Sun, 10/24/2021All Day---
Mon, 10/25/2021All Day---
Tue, 10/26/2021All Day---
Wed, 10/27/2021All Day---
Thu, 10/28/2021All Day---
Fri, 10/29/2021All Day---
Sat, 10/30/2021All Day---
Sun, 10/31/2021All Day---
Mon, 11/01/2021All Day---
Tue, 11/02/2021All Day---
Wed, 11/03/2021All Day---
Thu, 11/04/2021All Day---
Fri, 11/05/2021All Day---
Sat, 11/06/2021All Day---
Sun, 11/07/2021All Day---
Mon, 11/08/2021All Day---
Tue, 11/09/2021All Day---
Wed, 11/10/2021All Day---
Thu, 11/11/2021All Day---
Fri, 11/12/2021All Day---
Sat, 11/13/2021All Day---
Sun, 11/14/2021All Day---
Mon, 11/15/2021All Day---
Tue, 11/16/2021All Day---
Wed, 11/17/2021All Day---
Thu, 11/18/2021All Day---
Fri, 11/19/2021All Day---
Sat, 11/20/2021All Day---
Sun, 11/21/2021All Day---
Mon, 11/22/2021All Day---
Tue, 11/23/2021All Day---
Wed, 11/24/2021All Day---
Thu, 11/25/2021All Day---
Fri, 11/26/2021All Day---
Sat, 11/27/2021All Day---
Sun, 11/28/2021All Day---
Mon, 11/29/2021All Day---
Tue, 11/30/2021All Day---
Wed, 12/01/2021All Day---
Thu, 12/02/2021All Day---
Fri, 12/03/2021All Day---
Sat, 12/04/2021All Day---
Sun, 12/05/2021All Day---
Mon, 12/06/2021All Day---
Tue, 12/07/2021All Day---
Wed, 12/08/2021All Day---
Thu, 12/09/2021All Day---
Fri, 12/10/2021All Day---
Sat, 12/11/2021All Day---
Sun, 12/12/2021All Day---
Mon, 12/13/2021All Day---
Tue, 12/14/2021All Day---
Wed, 12/15/2021All Day---
Thu, 12/16/2021All Day---
Fri, 12/17/2021All Day---
Sat, 12/18/2021All Day---
Sun, 12/19/2021All Day---
Mon, 12/20/2021All Day---
Tue, 12/21/2021All Day---
Wed, 12/22/2021All Day---
Thu, 12/23/2021All Day---
Fri, 12/24/2021All Day---
Sat, 12/25/2021All Day---
Sun, 12/26/2021All Day---
Mon, 12/27/2021All Day---
Tue, 12/28/2021All Day---
Wed, 12/29/2021All Day---
Thu, 12/30/2021All Day---
Fri, 12/31/2021All Day---

More Events Like This

Registration is Open for Fall Session 2021
Classes & Workshops

Registration is Open for Fall Session 2021

Time to Plan your Creative Autumn! Register for fall classes and workshops today!...

Registration is Open for Fall Session 2021
Classes & Workshops

Registration is Open for Fall Session 2021

Time to Plan your Creative Autumn! Register for fall classes and workshops today! Registration...

Lost Man Blues: Jon Schueler – Art and War
Visual Arts

Lost Man Blues: Jon Schueler – Art and War

The Housatonic Museum of Art is proud to announce the opening of...

Big Art Bash 2021
Visual Arts

Big Art Bash 2021

On Thursday, September 2, the Housatonic Museum of Art (HMA) will reopen...

Find an Even