Vision & Dignity: The Art of George Hand Wright

Westport Historical Society

From Aug 15 to Nov 17, 2019
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

Opening Reception: August 15 at 6 pm.
Vision & Dignity: The Art of George Hand Wright, is a retrospective that examines the work and life of the Pennsylvania-born artist who moved his home and studio to the then-sleepy farm town of Westport, Connecticut in 1908.

Noted not only for his illustrations but his etchings and pastel work, as well as for producing war posters for the American government during World War I, Wright managed to portray the dignity of everyday life and everyday people without irony or judgement. With almost journalistic objectivity, the integrity of Wright’s pieces speak strongly to viewers observing his pieces today some one hundred years after they were produced.

Contact Name: Barbara

Contact Email: AssistantDirector@westporthistory.org

Contact Phone: 203-222-1424

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

This event is free of charge.

Venue

Westport Historical Society
25 Avery Place
Westport, CT 06880

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Mon, 09/16/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Tue, 09/17/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Wed, 09/18/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Thu, 09/19/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Fri, 09/20/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sat, 09/21/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sun, 09/22/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Mon, 09/23/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Tue, 09/24/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Wed, 09/25/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Thu, 09/26/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Fri, 09/27/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sat, 09/28/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sun, 09/29/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Mon, 09/30/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Tue, 10/01/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Wed, 10/02/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Thu, 10/03/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Fri, 10/04/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sat, 10/05/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sun, 10/06/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Mon, 10/07/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Tue, 10/08/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Wed, 10/09/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Thu, 10/10/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Fri, 10/11/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sat, 10/12/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sun, 10/13/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Mon, 10/14/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Tue, 10/15/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Wed, 10/16/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Thu, 10/17/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Fri, 10/18/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sat, 10/19/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sun, 10/20/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Mon, 10/21/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Tue, 10/22/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Wed, 10/23/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Thu, 10/24/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Fri, 10/25/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sat, 10/26/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sun, 10/27/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Mon, 10/28/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Tue, 10/29/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Wed, 10/30/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Thu, 10/31/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Fri, 11/01/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sat, 11/02/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sun, 11/03/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Mon, 11/04/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Tue, 11/05/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Wed, 11/06/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Thu, 11/07/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Fri, 11/08/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sat, 11/09/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sun, 11/10/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Mon, 11/11/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Tue, 11/12/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Wed, 11/13/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Thu, 11/14/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Fri, 11/15/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sat, 11/16/20196:00 pm7:30 pm
Sun, 11/17/20196:00 pm7:30 pm

More Events Like This

‘Destinations:’ A world tour, close to home
Visual Arts

‘Destinations:’ A world tour, close to home

Travel the world with the artists of the Maggie Daly Arts Cooperative...

Taking the Cure: Public Health 1880-1960
Visual Arts

Taking the Cure: Public Health 1880-1960

Taking the Cure, casts a lens on the social management of mental...

Katelyn Alain, “Vision and Metaphor: She took the Helm.”
Visual Arts

Katelyn Alain, “Vision and Metaphor: She took the Helm.”

Steeped in the academic tradition of painting, but with a unique contemporary...

Jill Nichols, Artist of the Month:  “Memories and Reflections”
Visual Arts

Jill Nichols, Artist of the Month: “Memories and Reflections”

Please join us at Jill Nichols' Artist Reception at the Fairfield University...

Find an Event