Your Place Squared: A Community Art Project

Bruce Museum

From Mar 09 to Jun 02, 2019
10:00 am - 5:00 pm


See Additional Dates

Find an Event

Description

The Bruce Museum is organizing an exhibition of small artworks created entirely by the public for the public. We invite art lovers of all ages, interests, and abilities to submit a depiction of “your place” as part of this new community art project.

Based on the popular 2012 exhibition of self-portraits, "Your Face Squared," the Bruce now asks participants to turn to the landscape for creative inspiration and to be a part of Your Place Squared: A Community Art Project.

The subjects of "Your Place Squared" can be a favorite scene or setting -- your home, a room, or any space that you treasure as your own. The artworks can be created in any medium, including writing, drawing, painting, photography, and collage. The criteria for display include art that: must be original and anonymous, must be 6 inches by 6 inches in size and no thicker than 3 inches, and cannot be toxic or harmful. A signed consent/waiver form must accompany each piece, and there is a limit of 10 submissions per individual.

The Museum will accept artworks from January 2 through March 1, 2019, with submitted artwork on view in the Museum’s Bantle Lecture Gallery from March 9 through June 2, 2019. During the exhibition visitors can also create additional pieces in the gallery, which will be added to the show. More information about the exhibition and the consent form for submissions are available at brucemuseum.org and at the Museum’s Visitor Services desk.

Contact Name: Scott Smith

Contact Email: ssmith@brucemuseum.org

Contact Phone: 203-413-6537

NOTE: We do our best to ensure all information is accurate, however it's a good idea to visit the website or call the venue to verify the information.

Details

Ticket Information

No ticket info available.

Venue

Bruce Museum
1 Museum Drive
Greenwich, CT 06830

Map and directions

Accessibility Info

  • Closed Captioning Closed Captioning
  • Info Info
  • Wheelchair Access Wheelchair Access

The Bruce Museum is accessible to individuals with disabilities. Museum programs are suitable for people of all abilites. Accessible parking is available in front of the Museum for access to the entrance ramp. The galleries, the Museum Store, and the restrooms are accessible. A wheelchair is available upon request.

Additional Dates

DateStartEnd
Fri, 04/19/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/20/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/21/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 04/22/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/23/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 04/24/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 04/25/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 04/26/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 04/27/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 04/28/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 04/29/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 04/30/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/01/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/02/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/03/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/04/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/05/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 05/06/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/07/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/08/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/09/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/10/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/11/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/12/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 05/13/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/14/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/15/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/16/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/17/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/18/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/19/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 05/20/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/21/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/22/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/23/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/24/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 05/25/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 05/26/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Mon, 05/27/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Tue, 05/28/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Wed, 05/29/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Thu, 05/30/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Fri, 05/31/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sat, 06/01/201910:00 am5:00 pm
Sun, 06/02/201910:00 am5:00 pm

More Events Like This

“Martin Kline: Hammock Paintings & Recent Works”
Visual Arts

“Martin Kline: Hammock Paintings & Recent Works”

Heather Gaudio Fine Art is pleased to present Martin Kline: Hammock Paintings...

Buried Treasures of the Silk Road
History & Heritage

Buried Treasures of the Silk Road

Opening on February 10, 2019, "Buried Treasures of the Silk Road" highlights...

Collective Action Archive: Redux
Visual Arts

Collective Action Archive: Redux

Franklin Street Works will celebrate the opening of “Collective Action Archive: Redux”...

Come See Spring in Bridgeport!
Science & Nature

Come See Spring in Bridgeport!

Now in its fifth year, Colorblends House and Spring Garden in Bridgeport...

Find an Event